The banyan tree represents a time of becoming self-aware through reflection, meditation, silence, and a quieting of one’s mind.

Leaving my job. Regaining myself.

Jules Emmanuelli
2 min readNov 9, 2023

This time last year I was unhealthy. Mentally, physically, spiritually. I needed to make a change but I felt paralyzed. I wasn’t sure who I’d be without a job title on LinkedIn or a paycheck with many 0s. I also wasn't sure how the world would receive me. The universe made the decision for me — I got laid off. I can confidently say now that it was the best thing that has happened to me in a long time.

To make sense of the feelings I had in the Fall of 2022, I need to rewind to 2017. I decided to become a software engineer because I was desperately seeking out a profession that allowed me to physically build something while also providing the security of a stable paycheck. I ended up finding JP Morgan Chase’s Tech Connect Program.

This program gave me more than I could have ever hoped for — it gave me community and a strong sense of agency. I fell in love with working in tech because I felt like I was working on changing the status quo of an industry. I felt like we were at the beginning of shifting how people viewed technologists. It’s these feelings around community and representation that led me to co-found the WIT Project. An organization that meant and continues to mean so much to me.

So coming back to last fall, I had lost sight of the activism and the community that made me fall in love with tech. The pandemic washed away in-person community events and made me feel disconnected from the people who most inspired the work I was doing. I also stopped bringing my whole self into work environments. I became scared of rejection, criticism, and the biases around me.

With a year of hindsight around me, I can see clearly what I lost and how critical this moment is for me. I’ve used the quietness of this year to re-learn how to appreciate my community, build genuine connections, and figure out what I care about most deeply. I want to ensure that my professional life best serves my personal goals. I’m pushing through a radical transformation in my personal and professional life. As I begin to resurface, I’d like to share this journey back to community and activism with all of you. Please challenge, question, and ask me for things along the way. I look forward to unfurling my thoughts about career, passion, community, spirituality, and so much more with all of you.

With love, Jules

--

--

Jules Emmanuelli

Chasing Joy and playfulness. Start-up Product manager. Co-founder @ The WIT Project. Marathoner. Food allergy advocate.