The Player’s Tarot

Or, if you’ll indulge me, the Byzantine Tarot.

Jasmine Friedrich
3 min readSep 20, 2019

During the Explorers Guild’s recent expedition to Rob Hill, I had the pleasure of entering a new artifact into the Stellar Cartography. It was a tarot deck, not unlike one you’d see at any divination parlor, but one with unusual suits and ranks, that told the story of a community quite like our own. I had first played the game of Tarot as part of that society, but had always felt that we needed a personal deck that could be easily and quickly read for play in dim light.

I started designs several years ago. However, for reasons you might recall, the project suddenly felt impossible. And then, eventually, unwelcome. Running into the files occasionally would haunt me. It was only after conferring with some very dear friends that I finally decided that this was still possible, still important, and still something I wanted to finish, if only for myself. Though I can’t speak for everyone involved in the story that this deck commemorates, or even for those honored on the cards, I believe it’s a story still worth revisiting, especially if it’s the one that brought us together. Those of like mind and heart may notice plenty of friendly faces, allusions and secrets hidden in the artwork. I won’t go spoiling too much. But I hope you’ll love them.

This deck will be printed at the larger-scale 2.75 × 4.75” tarot size, on premium linen card stock, which has a lovely dimpled texture that’s easy to deal. (But never shuffle.) The cards have been designed with play in mind, with special attention to card ranks and point values to help initiates and elders alike navigate their way through a full hand. It will come with a custom, rigid box with a matte linen finish, and an eight page booklet with the rules and scoring for tarot. Ready your spice, and it’s everything you’ll need for a game.

And now I turn to you: to enter production, I’ll need buy-in from a minimum number of parties to guarantee a price-point. More interest means a lower price. I want to offer it at the lowest cost possible to make it as accessible as possible. Bulk printing thresholds are at 6+, 30+, and 50+ decks. I’m planning to close the form after a month, or when I hit 50 decks, whichever comes first, and then I’ll get back in touch for payment and shipping information.

Interest form here: https://airtable.com/shrkaHHYu7HMWOHbP

Thanks very much.

--

--

Jasmine Friedrich

Designer, linguist, cook, cat person, feminist, ace, pedant. CPACC. They/she.