The roller coaster

Jacob Patton
2 min readMar 31, 2016

--

Two weeks ago marked the beginning of my journey to becoming a web developer; I received the pre-work and thought to myself, “How in the world am I going to learn all of this in 12 weeks?” I walked into Day 1 with very little confidence and one of the first things I was told was, “You will deal with the highest of the highs and the lowest of the lows during this 12 week roller coaster.” I could already feel myself going down the slope but this would suddenly change.

By the end of Day 1 the commands I could barely remember became second nature. Not only did I now have a solid foundation but I was able to write multiple commands on one line, something I never knew was possible. I was completely fascinated and this was the moment I realized this course was for me!

On Day 1 I could barely even remember how to format an HTML/CSS document and now, by the end of Day 2, the two languages began to make sense. Not only could I easily format an HTML document but remembering how to write CSS properties started to become second nature.

On the flip side of all this, there are definitely some aspects I would like to improve on:

  • CSS Frameworks
  • Relative and Absolute positioning (most important)
  • Location of files/directories
  • Using columns

Until next week!

--

--