Funemployment : How to successfully be unemployed

J-S Chouinard
4 min readSep 11, 2015

--

Lately, I decided to stop working.

At 35, working as a manager in a digital marketing agency for almost 9 years, it was time for me to take a break and really think about what I really want to do in my professional life. After all, I didn’t quit, the agency took one road and I kept mine, our paths just no longer pointed in the same direction. Let’s be clear: after almost a decade, the 2 owners had become great friends of mine and preserving our friendship was more important to us than staying in the agency for all the wrong reasons, making everyone unhappy. The decision was a difficult one as I grew up with the company and I was sentimentally very attached to it. We were one. But when I closed the door behind me for the last time and hopped on my bike, I felt at this precise moment it was the best decision I could have made. It was the moment I started a new life.

After almost 2 months of funemployment, I found a new job and start next Monday. As I reflect on my time off, I would like to offer some advice on what I did during that time and what I learned from this experience.

There is no need to make a big public announcement

Instead of updating your Facebook, LinkedIN, Twitter or posting on Snapchat, contact your closest friends to inform them of your decision. You need their support more than a ton of likes and having to validate your decision publicly. I also avoided all industry events. I didn’t wanted to explain myself to everybody less important to me in my professional life. I also wanted to break old patterns in order to rebuild myself professionally.

Maintain the good relationship you had with your previous bosses

The first job opportunity I got came from my old bosses. It wasn’t a perfect fit, but it helped me to get back in the game.

Remember you did this to have a break

You finally have the opportunity to take time for yourself and relax. Every day during my funemployment, I kept at least half day to enjoy my new freedom. I took time to read on my patio early in the morning, went to the public pool after a job interview or worked out in the middle of the afternoon. Remember, every day is Saturday.

Find a project unrelated to work

I quit on a Friday and the following Monday I started renovating my bathroom with my dad. It was a more-complicated-than-expected project, but I focused on something completely different of my everyday reality. I wanted to step away from a computer screen and use my hands instead of being constantly in my head. It took us two weeks to finish the project — the perfect timeframe to transition between two lives.

Do the boring things you never have the time to do

It seems silly, but take the time to do the little things you always push to tomorrow. I made a To Do list with due dates, just to keep me focused to get them done. It kept my motivation up and provided instant gratification by completing something I’d procrastinated for so many years.

Consider job searching like a job itself and set yourself objectives

That’s the trickiest part of all. You’re enjoying your funemployment, but you have to foresee the moment you will return to work. I started by setting two objectives for myself: 1) Meet at least one person a day for networking or interviews. 2) Have a new job by September 15th. These two objectives kept me focused on daily tasks I needed to undertake such as contacting influencers, applying for jobs, attending specific events. I also took time to refine my career master plan, define the ultimate job I wanted and identify next steps/positions/mandates to obtain it. If you don’t have a master plan, write it before you go funemployed.

Meet great minds in your network

I think this is the greatest part of funemployment. I met so many interesting people over a short period of time, hearing great business stories, talking about what I would like to do, the future of digital business. Those conversations kept me alive intellectually and helped me focus on creating my own path. I started by listing the people I wanted to meet and the reason for it (job referencing, career orientation, job opportunity) and contacted them one by one, in the first week of my job search. I also took time to help friends brainstorm ideas and strategies.

Save money to fully enjoy your funemployment

That’s the main key to keep yourself serene throughout his process and prevent yourself in making hasty decisions. Fortunately, I had saved money, but I recommend putting away a small amount of money each week to gather the ideal amount for living well. If you plan to stay with a company for 3 years and you need 3000$ to live well through 2 months of funemployment, you need to save about 20$ a week.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my two months of funemployment and recommend everybody live it at least once in their life. It gives you time to mull over your professional self and find what you would need in order to be happy. I felt free like never before. My mind is now clear and I’m ready to give everything to this new project and succeed.

--

--

J-S Chouinard

I craft, ship and market digital products. Sr Product Manager @ Landr // Internet must be free and neutral http://www.linkedin.com/in/jschouinard