🏀Victor Wembanyama

Joseph Thompson
3 min readNov 5, 2023

The new face of the NBA

Photo by Hadis Abedini on Unsplash

Friends,

I don’t care if you’re a hardcore fan or a casual. You must watch this kid play. He’s probably the most exciting player I’ve seen enter the league in a very long time. Lebron James was the last kid to receive this much attention. And as much as I respect Lebron’s game, I can honestly say that coming into the league, his game was nowhere near as polished as Victor’s. Now hear me out. Lebron’s court vision was elite, much better than Wemby’s. But he couldn’t shoot the ball. Wemby can shoot from deep and handle the ball, and he stands at a towering 7’4,” meaning he can block shots in his sleep.

Kevin Durant had this to say about Wembanyama.

“He’s different, man. He’s long, athletic, mobile. He can shoot it. He’s got skills. He’s tough. He’s gonna be a problem” (Greer, 2023).

Although he’s already a good player, he still needs to develop, and there isn’t a franchise in the NBA better at player development than the San Antonio Spurs. They are coached by one of the best to ever do it. Merrillville High School Alum, Greg Popovich.

The very first time I caught a glimpse of Victor Wembanyama was during the NBA Summer League in Las Vegas. The media had been hyping this kid up for the past few years, so I had to see it for myself. I wasn’t…

--

--