How to Extract Isolines in p5.js

JT Nimoy
10 min readJul 30, 2019

It has been a decade since I posted a portfolio entry about how I worked on Tron Legacy and then my site got slashdotted and redditted, ddossing me off my server, which was a long overdue upgrade anyway. My soon-to-be-fiancé who had just freshly fished me out of rehab, was egging me on as i pushed it to jtnimoy.net , and I really was not expecting the kind of audience that happened. In fact, you are still watching me today specifically because of that post alone, which is both creepy and fascinating business. I wish to respect Disney’s interests in every way, but also continue with my artistic exploration of the area without feeling like I’m shackled to a mouse.

And so here I am contributing a 2D isosurface extraction library to p5js to commemorate the occasion in a rather self-congratulatory way. Furthermore, I hope that the cleverly named p5.marching.js will eventually rock 3D marching cubes, and perhaps 4D. So with future plans set down, let’s mess around in p5js. I want to produce a similar luffa sponge that was seen in my own Tron work. I know half the internet tried it. So I’m jealous and want to join you.

Check it out, Here is the most basic p5js sketch that makes a spinning 3D thingy.

push();

--

--

JT Nimoy

Creative Technologist Multiracial Queer Trans Womxn of Color, with negative levels of privilege.