Personal Reflection on Education and Research in 2022

Editorial note: This is purely my personal perspective. In this article, I do not officially represent any institution (e.g. GovTech Edu, Ministry of Education Culture Research & Technology, University of Indonesia, Nanyang Technological University, etc).

Personal Context

In 2021, I involved more deeply in education-related activities (e.g. continuation of my PhD program, actual work in the ministry, guest lecture opportunities, etc). From personal perspective, I really enjoy learning, discussion and research activities. To be more precise, I can boldly claim that I am a “philosopher” (hence, discussion/philosophical discourse is really attractive for me). For me, when I learn something, I do not have personal pressure to make it useful, applicative or impactful to the “real world”. I am totally ok to stop at the discussion phase. For me, the process/activity is enjoyable and sufficient in itself. Although I know, in professional context, I need to “shift gear” a little bit. In professional context, I have to translate my knowledge into actual policy, digital product, data-driven recommendation, business plan, or organization strategy.

Professional Context

At Ministry of Education Culture Research & Technology (GovTech Edu), I want to further understand and contribute towards education policy and the power of technology/innovation in solving critical education challenges in Indonesia. I am excited to support the direction of “Merdeka Belajar” (freedom to learn). From academic and policy implementation perspective, I think there are many debates about this concept. For me, I am happy enough to see the possibility for universities to be more flexible & adaptive with the current industry context. I also see the need for learning customization (e.g. materials, approach, etc) that can be specific/targeted to certain school or region. Considering the diverse condition of schools, teachers, students and parents across the archipelago, for sure “one size fits all” approach will not be relevant. However, certain level of standard and guidance are still required in order to avoid confusion at the operational/grass-root level.

Wish List

My wish is very simple, I hope that I can still contribute towards education & research many years from now. At that time, I may not work in the GovTech / national ministry anymore, but I think I will always intersect with education & research activities throughout my careers. It does not matter where I am, I think I always do the following activities: pondering philosophical topics, sharing my knowledge, discussing topics that are attractive for me, forming reading/discussion groups, initiating learning programs in my organization, etc. As a country with 270++ millions population with all its diversity and complexity, I really wish Indonesia can progressively improve the quality of education and hence, the future of the next generation and country.

I am always open for discussion and highly reachable via:
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/juan-kanggrawan-78ab755a
Email: juan.tan.kang@gmail.com

Interests (expanded from Medium profile):
Analytics, Data Science, Innovation, Technology Blueprint, Team Building, Strategy, Business Growth, Strategic Partnership, Organizational Design, Smart Cities, Urban Science, Complex Science, Public Policy, Nation Building, Social Impact, Ideology, Philosophy, Reformed Theology, Arts (Paintings)

--

--

Juan Intan Kanggrawan (juan.tan.kang@gmail.com)

Interests: Analytics, Strategy, Innovation, Smart Cities, Urban Science, Public Policy, Nation Building, Social Impact, Ideology, Philosophy, Arts (Paintings)