A thoughful Demo Friday

Juan Camilo Mazo Parra
3 min readNov 21, 2018

--

From all the classes we had in the course of methods and approaches there was a demo Friday about music in the classroom that I didn’t expect to be that touching.

It all started with the song “What they do by The roots feat. Raphael Saadiq”. It was the first time that I heard that song, but it had very strong lyrics related to hip-hop culture and a message that could be related with other situations.

It continued with “What it’s like by Everlast” which is intended to make you aware of every situation, and the path that everyone is going through. The whole main idea is that nothing is easy and if you think that someone’s else’s life is untroubled, you’ll need to put yourself in their shoes “ Then you really might know what it’s like…”.

The next song that totally shocked me was “Earth Song by Michael Jackson” because I remembered that song from the days that I didn’t understand English, and that day in the demo Friday, I felt the power of those lyrics. At the same time, I realized that it is an old song and the problems mentioned on it have gotten worse. Those lyrics left an echo in my mind “What about all the dreams”.

The classroom environment was already tense and it remained completely quiet with this other song “Till it happens to you by Lady Gaga”. At the beginning we were putting ourselves in someone else’s shoes, but as Gaga would say in this horrendous situation that many women are forced to live every day “ Till it happens to you, you don’t know how it feels”. Meanwhile I looked around the classroom, I saw my girl mates and felt ashamed of men and all the pain that we caused to them for years in many different contexts.

Following the same topic with the song “Don’t Stand So Close To Me by The Police” it felt more personal to me since I’m studying pedagogy. The only thought I had during the song was how come anyone is capable of doing so much damage.

One of the songs that I enjoyed more was “Time Of Your Life by Green Day”. It is the type song you must listen after a breakup or even just in a cold day. When you know the story behind the song, you get attached to Billie Joe’s feelings and it feels like you want to play the song with him while raising your arm to the air and singing aloud “ it’s something unpredictable, but the end it’s right I hope you had the time of your life”.

The last song we listened to in that demo Friday was “ We Didn’t Start the fire by Billy Joel” and it has a strong message, a revolutionary one. Actually the main idea is more about fighting for what is worth. Nowadays, there are numerous circumstances that we just let happen, and it is our to duty to stand against them and scream “WE DIND’T START THE FIRE IT WAS ALWAYS BURNING SINCE THE WORLD’S BEEN TURNING NO WE DIDN’T NOT LIGHT IT, BUT WE TRIED TO FIGHT IT”

--

--