Juan González
2 min readMar 8, 2019
Kiva.org on International Women’s Day.

Update on March 10, 2019: thanks to Kiva lenders, this community made a huge impact by funding the loans of more than 11,500 women on Kiva! That’s more than $5 million in loans invested in women entrepreneurs just this week!

Lend to Women on Kiva

Today is International Women’s Day and funders at Kiva.org are matching up to $1.5 million in loans to women from many different countries. The goal is to fund projects lead by 10,000 women this week :-)

I have written in the past about my plans to step up my commitment to Kiva projects and today is a great opportunity to share this week’s initiative with you. By lending as little as $25, you can help people around the world create opportunity for themselves and their communities.

This week I’ve picked the fishing business led by Ma. Luisa from the Philippines. She has taken the loan in order to buy fish net, bamboo, rope, gasoline for her boat and other materials needed for her business. This project is fully funded by now, but there’s a whole lot in need of your help.

I have been surrounded by incredibly inspiring women all my life. My character, values, and work ethic has been shaped by them and their example. Please join me today in celebrating entrepreneurial women and then let’s keep celebrating them all year long in whichever way or form you prefer.

Did I mention that Kiva’s repayment rate is 96.8%?

Thank for reading,

Juan.