CHEETAH GIRLS, CHEETAH SISTERS

Julia Guillen
3 min readAug 1, 2018

--

The amount of people that have never seen the Disney Channel Original Movie Cheetah Girls is honestly disturbing. If you are one of the tragic few, I advise you to Netflix it ASAP. The reason why I am so adamant about this is because Cheetah Girls has everything I needed to see as a kid. It was a realistic depiction of life when I was 8 and now at 19 it has stood the test of time.

It goes without saying that the music is bomb, but the reason why I find myself a diehard fan and promoter of Cheetah Girls is because it reflects my background. I’m a mixed kid who grew up in a single-parent household. I hardly see myself and my experiences on the big screen and trust me, I look (binging = dedication). Cheetah Girls blends elements of diversity, friendship and feminism in a way that is empowering. This movie is reassuring because I know I’m not the only female to have watched it as a kid- it was on the Disney Channel so everyone watched it. We’re all now old enough to reflect on how different our experience is in all facets of life. And we are now capable of taking some action to make sure everyone’s stories are told.

DIVERSITY

Dorinda is white, Aqua is African American, Gabriella is mixed, and Channel is “Puerto Rican, Cuban, Domincan…” But these characters aren’t just walking TV quotas.

They are developed and fully realized characters beyond their ethnicity and IT IS SO REFRESHING. (@Hollywood and the Academy take some notes!). Cheetah Girls also manages to present different family dynamics: 2 parent household, single-parent household and a foster care household.

This is so important!

FRIENDSHIP

Unlike a lot of movies attempting to portray female friendship, Cheetah Girls does it in a very honest way. These girls laugh together, tease each other about their “boo” and are there for each other. Even though these girls are up against some tough circumstances (especially when you’re trying to lock down a record deal at 15), it remains grounded as an honest look at what these girls are going through.

An early dose of feminism: GIRL POWER

Just watch and marvel in the gloriousness of Cheetah Girls.

I have no words for you all. Just a quote:

“I can slay (I can slay) my own dragons (my own dragons) I can dream my own dreams (my own dreams) My knight in shining armor (shining armor) is me So I’m gonna set me free”

Amen. Be a badass. Support, create and inspire another generation’s Cheetah Girls. For more on how Cheetah Girls are #SquadGoals check out this BuzzFeed article.

--

--