A Korean Grandmother, Halmoni

My Portrait of a Lady Series: Halmoni 할머니

Kimseeart
2 min readOct 3, 2019
Copyright © 2019 Kimseeart

This is a sketch of my paternal grandmother, drawn by me. She is wearing a han bok, a traditional Korean costume. Her tight up-do, parted in the center, is a typical hairdo worn by married women. The only photo I have of her is a black and white print in which she is holding the Bible and a rosary. She was a devout Roman Catholic. My father was proud of the fact that his mother had built the first Catholic Church in his rural hometown, near Busan, in South Korea. That is the only thing I know about my grandmother. While this particular story was repeated to me growing up, I took my grandmother’s legacy for granted. I did not realize until much later in life that building a church in a culture that was anti-Christian, in the midst of a Japanese occupation, posed an immense challenge, especially as a woman.

I am utterly sad to admit that I did not recall her name until after both of my parents passed away. In Korea, many women are not called by their names. They are given titles. Grandmother is Halmoni (hahl-money) in Korean. If a female looks old enough to be a grandmother, she is addressed as Halmoni, by relatives, friends and strangers. In a modern world that is full of gadgets to stay young, the word Halmoni is becoming unpopular without respectable alternatives to addressing an elderly female. Plus, it is inappropriate to say the name of an elderly person unless you are the same age.

This portrait of my grandmother represents all the Halmonies in Korea who were not called by their names. Every crease on her face bears the test of time and is a visual symbol of her life and wisdom. According to my family records, my paternal grandmother’s name was Kang, Jae Yon. In Korea, surname comes first. She took the name Teresa when she was baptized, and I imagine that she probably went by Teresa most of her life. I find it interesting that within the Catholic Church in Korea, all women are addressed by their baptismal names regardless of their age, with the word Sister attached.

Original Art by Kimseeart. Size: 11”x14”/ Medium: Pencil on Paper/ Date: July 31, 2019

--

--