Strong Women Quotes for Challenging Times

Julia Lally
3 min readMar 25, 2020

Sometimes, life doesn’t just throw one curveball. at a strong woman.. it throws a series of blinders. I write this just as the UK braces itself to be hit by COVID-19. As cases double on a daily basis and we know we do not have enough respirators to save all who will need one.

There is a strange kind of panic hit the land. Followed by an intense quiet. The supermarket shelves are empty. The pubs and restaurants experiencing a 50% down in footfall. Loved ones huddled closer. It’s a time of deep stillness and reflection and courage. Schools and gatherings all over the world shut down. And even the Irish are closing their pubs.

What better time then, than to reflect on the courage of those before and around us.

I have listed below some of those strong women who have helped me through tough times already. In the hope that the solace of their words will guide us through more.

Strong Woman Strong

I am a strong woman.

You wanna know why?

Well, obviously….

I’ve had strong woman teachers:

Maya Ang​elou

I do my best because I am counting on you counting on me

Adrienne Maree​ Brown

--

--