We’ve been married one year. Here’s what we’ve learned.

A conversation with my best friends about their journey.

Julia Laude
5 min readAug 17, 2023
Photos courtesy of friends and family

It was Saturday, July 23, 2022 in Ithaca, NY. I woke up to the sun streaming in through the windows. Today was a big day for myself and my childhood friends. This was the day that my two best friends, Raul and Clairissa, were to be married.

It was around 8:00a.m.. I made a cup of coffee and stood outside of the Parlour Suite at the New Park wedding venue the couple booked for their big day. I was one of six bridesmaids Clairissa chose to be in her wedding party. I flew in from Florida to be a part of her bridal party.

We spent most of that July morning inside the Bridal Shire, where the smell of perfume, and hairspray filled the air as mother, daughter and friends prepared for what would be an unforgettable day.

I’ve known Clairissa for 15 years. I met her in high school, along with six other girls. We called ourselves the ‘Quidditch Team’. Unfortunately, some of those friendships have faded, but my bond with Clairissa has withstood the test of time and distance. I truly cherish my friendship with her.

--

--