Thai Food

Juliana Perea
2 min readMar 14, 2017

--

I’ll never be done with Food posts. I love food, I think this is one of the greatest pleasures we can enjoy in life. I also can say Thai food is one of my favorites. And I decided to make only one post with Thai food. Even though I mentioned two good restaurants in a different post before.

I love spice and savor food. So, Thai food has the best combination for me. Even though they put a lot of ingredients in one plate that never will come to my mind to mix them and create a good plate.

In NYC you will feel like traveling around the world which is fine but also. I recommend you to take some time to research before. Know about the Thailand culture and understand why you may get only a spoon and fork in your table. They traditionally eat the meat and rice with the hands. But the spoon is used to eat the soup and the fork to push the food into the spoon.

Here are other recommendations in Thai restaurants in NYC.

kamikaze- Spicy Shallot by Juliana Perea

Spicy Shallot- https://www.spicyshallot.com/

This restaurant is not very famous. But I haven’t seen in other Thai restaurant a dish called Kamikaze; it’s to die for!!! I’m pretty sure it has Salmon and cheese on it. But I’m not sure of the rest of the ingredients. I can guarantee you’ll love it if you like with sea food. It comes also with a good presentation in a porcelain plate and fire around. Nothing dangerous, don’t worry!

Pig and Khao — http://pigandkhao.com/

This place became pretty famous because the Chef is the owner, Leah Cohen. She has been playing with the combination of Asian Food since 2012. A familiar environment and some music to the end. You should try the Sizzling Sisig, which comes with head pork, cilantro, onions and egg. Leah has a particular way to put this dish together. You should get a seat in the counter and enjoy to see how she cooks. This restaurant is pretty busy. I recommend you to make reservations before you go. Specially during the weekends with the Brunch menu and mimosas.

Pok Pok NY- http://pokpokny.com/

This restaurant is located in Brooklyn’s waterfront. They have a particular way in the decoration of the restaurant nothing fancy. But this is really particular. Especially during the summer where you can enjoy their backyard. They got a Michelin Start 2014 and 2015 which means their quality is top notch.

A good dish here will be Yam Samun Phrai, Kind of salad with carrots fried shallots, dry shrimp and bunch of ingredients that makes a great combination. Oh! And coconut milk dressing.

I prefer to go there with a group of friends. In this order with can order and try different plates.

--

--

Juliana Perea

Do you think there is nothing to enjoy in NYC other than long hours of work and bills to pay?