Dev-Blog 2

Julian Kern
2 min readNov 16, 2017

--

facerecognition on GitHub (link below)

Well, the DMX thing described in the last weeks post wasn’t as easy as I thought. First of all, the DMX/USB-interface was the cheapest one I could get. Just 43€, and I thought that’s enough for some testing. This interface registers as a serial port, which SHOULD be accessible via NodeJS, but apparently the drivers are not very well buildt or I did a couple of things wrong or both.

Anyway, I decided to spend a bigger amount of money on this, on a well working adapter. Unfortunately the package is delayed the second time already, so I’m not able to show you a final dmx2homekit version.

Instead I want to talk a bit about the future of computing. This is indeed a huge field, and I will not write a full blown article about this topic. A couple of months ago I was really sceptical if something like AI could ever reach a useful or even dangerous level. After I played around with maschine learning, I changed my mind that I can be indeed somehow dangerous. Even today.

We probably all know the new iPhone X with face recognition in a very small device. I’m not entirely sure how reliable this works, but I assume Apple releases only features, that work well for the most of us. Drones and quadrocopters are out there for a couple of years already. I’m afraid that it’s just a matter of time, until someone combines the two and adds a weapon to it. Hopefully someone will think about a better usecase…

Anyway, I would like to share a trainable little program for face recognition I wrote a couple of weeks ago. You need Docker, as well as NodeJS for this:

--

--

Julian Kern

Frontend dev & designer from Berlin, DE. High quality code calms my inner Sheldon Cooper. Cats would be the better humans.