Julie G
1 min readDec 14, 2015

--

Hear, hear! Well said and I could not agree more. This reflects many of my personal experiences, as a woman, as an American - who has had the privilege to live and work in many countries - including Afghanistan. I am constantly impressed with the resilience and perseverance of people around the world to confront issues of gender inequality and oppression of women and girls. Women who overcome societal pressures and violence, girls who are defiant in the face of oppression, men who acknowledge and encourage the participation and recognition of women, boys who play indiscriminately. Sometimes it is the simple acts. Most times it is the bravery and courage exhibited in the everyday, mundane acts to try and make the world better for everyone.

But there are other days where I am dismayed by the lack of empathy and the cruelty. I naively thought I wouldn’t have to face as many of these issues when I was back in the U.S., but I was discouraged to realize that misogyny is alive and well and flourishing back home.

Everyone has their struggles but there are certainly some unique and difficult ones to being a woman in this world.

More empathy to the diversity of struggles and less attempts to comparatively classify and rank as a means to dismiss would benefit us all.

--

--