A Letter To My Sperm Donor

Julie C-W
4 min readAug 15, 2018

Or Why “Impregnate & Run” Does Not Make You a Dad

Photo by Edward Cisneros on Unsplash

Dear Sperm Donor,

Yes, it’s me. That seed you left in Mom after you told her that you couldn’t have kids.

Apparently, someone (you) was either mistaken, misinformed or lied. While it was great that you were tickled pink that you were going to have a namesake, initially? You grew weary of Mom when she entered her third trimester with me.

While it was bad enough that you wanted to be with other people during her last trimester, what is really sorry is that you fell asleep and stayed that way through most of our labor . If the doctor hadn’t threatened to kick your tail out of the recliner, himself, you’d have missed my arrival completely. It’s a good thing that I was a newborn who couldn’t grasp that concept because otherwise I might have some lasting emotional scars. Thank goodness Mom loved me enough for both of you.

After those couple of minutes I spent with you in the hospital, I didn’t see you again until my first birthday party. Fortunately for me, I had loving grandparents on Mom’s side that loved me, too, so I never really got to miss having a “dad” around. I had Pop-Pop, Nana, MiMi and Mamma to love, cuddle, hold and play with me that whole first year I was around! I love them a lot!

--

--

Julie C-W

Wife. Mom. Nana. Daughter. Sister. Photographer, wordsmith, lover of life and neither left nor right.