Juliejosiah
4 min readSep 16, 2023

A brush with Carbon Monoxide: A Personal Near-Death Experience, Impacts, Call for Awareness, Safety measures and Treatment

Abstract:

I nearly died from carbon monoxide poisoning, which taught me how vital it is to be aware and take precautions. I used a coal stove to cook, and this decision put me in great danger indoors. I suddenly collapsed, fortunately, someone saved me and this experience made me realise just how sneaky and dangerous carbon monoxide can be. This narrative highlights the urgent need for education and vigilance surrounding this often underestimated threat.

Introduction:

Carbon monoxide is a colorless and odorless gas produced through the incomplete combustion of carbon-containing fuels. Its danger lies in its interference with the body’s oxygen transport system, resulting in a range of adverse effects.

My experience:

I had a near-death experience due to carbon monoxide poisoning, and it made me realize the importance of understanding the dangers and taking preventive measures. At that time, I was facing financial constraints and decided to use a coal stove to cook, as my gas cooker had run out. I set up the stove in my kitchen, where I was cooking sweet potatoes, opting to keep them inside instead of on the shared balcony due to safety concerns.

On that day, post-election demonstrations were ongoing, and my sister and I were at home. I cooked the sweet potatoes, we had tea, and watched a movie to allow our food to digest. Despite waking up early, we eventually took a nap around 2 pm, planning to rest for a short while.

Around 3:30 pm, my alarm went off, and I snoozed it to sleep a bit more. I eventually woke up at 4 pm, feeling a pounding headache and extreme thirst. As I headed towards the kitchen, which was open to the rest of the house, I suddenly collapsed with a loud thud. The noise woke up my sister, who found me unconscious on the floor. She quickly reacted by pouring water on my face, which eventually brought me back to consciousness, albeit with a blurry vision. With her help, I managed to crawl out of the house onto the balcony, where I regained full consciousness despite feeling dizzy.

However, the danger wasn’t over yet. Soon after, my sister also collapsed due to the lingering effects of carbon monoxide. I managed to help her regain consciousness by pouring water on her face as well. I noticed red, spidery veins on the whites of her eyes, indicating the lack of oxygen. With her holding onto my shoulders, I assisted her to the rooftop, where there was ample fresh air. As we breathed in the clean air, her vision cleared up, and we sat down to recover from the ordeal. This incident was an eye-opener for both of us, as we had never fully grasped the dangers of carbon monoxide.

Impacts of Carbon Monoxide:

  1. Health Impact:

Carbon monoxide binds to haemoglobin in red blood cells more effectively than oxygen, leading to the formation of carboxyhemoglobin. This reduces the oxygen available in the body, causing a variety of health issues and even death.

2. Lethality:

Carbon monoxide poisoning can be lethal, particularly in spaces with poor ventilation. Its colorless and odorless nature means people might not be aware of its presence until symptoms appear.

3. Sources of Carbon Monoxide:

Fuel-burning appliances such as stoves, fireplaces and generators, can produce carbon monoxide. Poor ventilation or malfunctions can lead to dangerous concentrations indoors.

4. Symptoms and Diagnosis:

The symptoms of carbon monoxide poisoning can resemble those of other illnesses, making diagnosis challenging. Headaches, nausea, weakness, and confusion are common signs.

5. Vulnerable Groups:

Elderly individuals, infants, pregnant women, and those with preexisting health conditions are particularly susceptible to carbon monoxide’s effects.

Prevention and Safety Measures:

  1. Proper ventilation and regular maintenance of fuel-burning appliances are crucial to preventing carbon monoxide buildup.

2. Installing carbon monoxide detectors can provide early alerts.

3. Do not use outdoor appliances (e.g., generator) inside or near open windows

Treatment:

  1. In the emergency room, patients receive standard treatment with a mask providing pure oxygen to enhance oxygen delivery to their organs and tissues. Those unable to breathe independently may require a ventilator to assist with breathing.

2. Receiving hyperbaric oxygen therapy, patients breathe pure oxygen in a pressurized chamber for a specified duration. The chamber’s air pressure is 2 to 3 times higher than normal, aiding in the removal of carbon monoxide from the bloodstream.

Conclusion:

Reflecting on my own experience, I am immensely grateful that my sister and I survived. Had the situation involved a fire, our outcome might have been very different. This incident has made me much more conscious of the dangers caused by carbon monoxide and the importance of taking preventive measures to ensure safety.

Citations:

https://www.ncoaa.us/preventive-measures

https://www.mayoclinic.org