From Zero to a Million : The First Revenues Came From an Unusual Source

Julien Brault
Marketing And Growth Hacking
4 min readAug 31, 2016

Generating revenues took longer than I expected.

I checked my bank account balance a little more than a week ago, and I was aghast. Since launching Hardbacon, I still haven’t generated any revenue, even though Hardbacon’s minimum viable product is online and our partners should start sending us our first cheques over the next few months. Overall it’s going well, but generating revenues is taking longer than I expected.

After checking my balance, I decided to go ahead with an idea that had been bouncing around in my head. My online bank, Tangerine, has a new referral program, so why not use it to generate revenues for Hardbacon? Especially because until September 16, this bank (owned by ScotiaBank) is giving a $50 bonus for each new customer you refer, as well as giving $50 to the new customer.

I wasn’t excited by the idea, since I wanted to discuss investing in Hardbacon’s newsletter. Nonetheless, convincing people to open a low-fee account supports Hardbacon’s mission, albeit indirectly. The truth is the more you save, the more you can invest.

I sent a newsletter encouraging our French-speaking subscribers to support Hardbacon and open an account, in order to pocket $50 and potentially save on bank fees. If you’re wondering why I haven’t yet sent a newsletter to our English-speaking subscribers, it’s mainly because I haven’t had the time. However, if you want to get the 50$ and help Hardbacon at the same time, use this link to open a Tangerine account with my “Orange Key”, which is 16173250S1.

Two days later, there were still no $50 deposits in my bank account and I began to think that my idea wouldn’t work. Then, Monday night, I noticed a first $50 deposit had appeared. It was Hardbacon’s first revenue, even though it was deposited into my personal bank account.

But it didn’t stop there. The next day, another $50 was deposited into my account, then the day after that, yet another $50. Little by little, no less than $350 in referral bonuses was deposited into my account, thanks to the Hardbacon newsletter subscribers.

It’s just a beginning, but it bodes well for things to come since Hardbacon’s business model is based on affiliation. In fact, when users open an account with a discount broker or a robot-advisor, we make money. And when our users invest their money intelligently, we accomplish our mission.

Major Accomplishments:

• Met with four potential partners in Montreal

• Got an office at La Gare through and exchange of services

• Began Hardbacon’s incorporation process with Lavery

Growth Metrics:

• Revenue: $350 (total: $350, infinite growth)

• New newsletter subscribers: 111 (total: 1875, weekly growth: 6%)

• New Snapchat subscribers: 3 (total 106, weekly growth: 3%)

• New Instagram subscribers: 30 (total: 373, weekly growth: 9%)

  • New Facebook Likes: 50 (total: 1535, weekly growth: 3%)

My previous “From Zero to a Million” posts, in which I reveal every week how I’m building and growing Hardbacon with no money :

We give expert advice on everything Marketing & Growth Hacking for a living. Want help growing your business? Visit us at MarkGrowth.com

Write a Response below. (Here’s how.)

You are in good company. Mark Growth is the largest publication on Medium for articles on topics related to business marketing & growth hacking. Follow us on Twitter @MarkGrowth to keep up to date with us.

Editor in Chief: Lincoln W Daniel.

--

--

Julien Brault
Marketing And Growth Hacking

Former economic journalist, fintech entrepreneur and publisher of the Global Fintech Insider newsletter. https://www.globalfintechinsider.com/