10 novels for my business students

Julien Cayla
5 min readJun 4, 2023

--

Last week I curated a list of ten non-fiction books which could interest my business students.

A follow-up to my rant about my undergraduate students not reading books anymore.

Novels have unique qualities that differ from nonfiction, so I wanted to create a different list, just for fiction.

Novels are especially valuable when it comes to broadening cultural horizons. While some of my students have traveled, many of them have not had the opportunity. I included works set in India, Japan, Korea, Ghana, and Nigeria because I want my students to develop a deeper understanding of different cultures.

I also wanted to include novels that offer valuable insights into the world of work and commerce. There is nothing like fiction to help students grasp the complexities of office life.

Finally, I wanted to expose students to exceptional writing. Even in the age of AI, the ability to tell great stories or write with flair will remain important. Regrettably, I did not include novels by some of my favorite authors, such as Jonathan Franzen, or Margaret Atwood. But some of the books listed here are superbly written.

For me, this list is a starting point, a nice collection to pique curiosity.

1. Nice Work by David Lodge

I read this novel when I was 18, and David Lodge quickly became my favourite author. Nice Work introduces two very different characters: a female university professor and a male factory manager.

Through their interactions, the novel illuminates the clash between academia and industry. Since the academic is trying to understand the workings of a factory, the novel is a great dive into the world of work.

Part of Lodge’s academic trilogy, but can also be read on its own. Shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1988.

2. Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata

This whimsical novel tells the story of Keiko Furukura, a young Japanese woman who falls in love with the store where she works. The protagonist, Keiko, finds purpose and acceptance at Smile Mart, which allows her to create her own version of the good life. A fascinating reflection on societal expectations and the pursuit of happiness.

3. Then we came to the end by Joshua Ferris

Skillfully depicts the atmosphere in a Chicago advertising agency struggling with layoffs, capturing the dynamics of contemporary office life. Ferris masterfully details the mundanity of work and the constant struggle to avoid termination. A work comedy.

4. The Way Things Were by Aatish Taseer

One of my favorite novels. A family saga that takes you through recent Indian history and highlights the tensions between tradition and modernity in India today. The main protagonist is a Sanskrit-obsessed scholar, making him a great narrative device to explore the contradictions between the imagined India of Vedic culture, and the complexities of India’s contemporary politics. A great introduction to India’s recent history, between the Emergency until today.

5. Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Another multi-generational saga about a Korean family migrating to Japan.Extremely well-researched dive into the history of Koreans in Japan. The book was a National Book Award Finalist in the US.

6. The Glass Palace by Amitav Ghosh

This book left a deep impression on me. Few novels manage to weave together the history of Southeast Asia as deftly as Ghosh, and his background in anthropology is evident in his ability to make connections between different Asian places. Probably my favorite Ghosh novel along with Hungry Tide.

7. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The story of Ifemelu, a Nigerian woman who migrates to the United States. A powerful story on race, identity, and love. This book won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction in 2013.

8. Solar By Ian McEwan

I love Ian McEwan’s writing. In this novel, a physicist named Michael Beard struggles with personal and professional challenges as he tries to combat climate change, leading to a series of humorous and unpredictable events.

9. Homegoing” by Yaa Gyasi

A great debut novel that traces the lives of two half-sisters from Ghana and their descendants. The book spans several generations and continents and portrays the lingering effects of slavery. Gritty, but also riveting.

10. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

A captivating novel that immerses readers in an alternate Tokyo in 1984, where the lives of two protagonists, Aomame and Tengo, intertwine. Received the Yomiuri Prize for Literature.

--

--

Julien Cayla

Professor-I write about academic life, the writing craft and books. See my research here: https://www.juliencayla.com/