Meme Speaker

Julie Olafsson
1 min readApr 7, 2017

--

This speaker was not exactly what I was expecting. Something that I found unique about this was that it was not necessarily about memes entirely, but about the culture of memes and the people who are interested in them. I was expecting him to spend the entire hour putting up funny memes and us all laughing about them. But this was definitely not the route he took. He took the audience through beginning of memes and how things go viral. He showed us the sponsorship and the power that celeberties have in making something successful, or viral. It was cool to see the types of people that follow memes, they are certianly unique, as I am one of them. He also discussed the way memes give people a lot of source material to play with. He showed us how we are able to look at internet participation and the rise of memes.

To be completely honest, I thought the session was kind of annoying. Maybe this was because the sound was too loud, or that it was very loud in the room, but it was not really what I expected. But I will forever love memes.

--

--