Limoncello

Juliet Peay
2 min readMay 14, 2020

--

Limoncello had been on my list to try for a while, but I never got around to it until now. I had been to the location when it used to be the Playwright, but not since it re-opened as Limoncello, the authentic Italian restaurant. With family in town, we decided to treat ourselves to some pasta.

We started with marinated olives and calamari and there was no better way to begin. For drinks, we ordered a glass of cabernet sauvignon and some typical American beer only to be told that, since those weren’t Italian, they weren’t served. I was impressed with the commitment to authenticity, and we tried a sample of Italian beer. I loved the taste but Tyler was not as impressed. Disappointment waded quickly when our server recommended La Borda and Limoncello ’75. La Borda was the sweetest, best drink I’ve ever had that I wouldn’t have chosen myself. Limoncello ’75 complementing as its sour sister was equally delicious. Apart from Italian drinks, the menu offered several Italian favorites from zuppa e insalada, antipasti, and sul pane to house made pasta (family recipes), pizza, and pesce e carne.

The best part of every restaurant is having bread for the table, especially when olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette are involved. We started with an olive plate and calamari, and when it was time to order, I went for the lasagna. Having an Italian family recipe for spaghetti and meatballs of my own, I couldn’t be a traitor. My father-in-law got the spaghetti and Tyler got pappardelle bolognese. We indulged and praised the cuisine over and over again. We stayed for a couple hours and even ordered tiramasu for dessert. Surprisingly, dessert was my least favorite, but probably because I was already stuffed.

Overall, Limoncello knows what they’re doing and I personally appreciated their commitment to authentic Italian family recipes. I not only had an outstanding meal, but made great memories, too. Next time I attend a show at the Peace Center, I plan to first dine at Limoncello.

As they say in Italian “Mangia bene, ridi spesso, ama molto.” — Eat well, laugh often, love much.

This article was originally published on gvlenthusiast.com.

--

--

Juliet Peay

Juliet Peay is a launch copywriter based in Greenville, SC.