Rethinking Slack mobile App for Android

Jummy Abdul
2 min readJan 12, 2019

The first time I used slack was on my desktop. I was very impressed by the aesthetic and design compared to other product I had come across. While I thought the desktop version was intuitive I felt the mobile App could be improved. So I decided to analyse the current slack mobile App on Android and to propose a redesign concept.

UX analysis of the current slack App

Solving the problem (Design process)

There are people who believe that user interface does not need to be explained, and other people think that you don’t expect a new user to understand a new interface without any sort of help.

On boarding flow

We all know the power of the first contact. So I do believe that the right mobile app on boarding can save your app from uninstalls and a bunch of other creepy stuff.
There are three main goals behind app on boarding: It greets, informs and engages a user. Slack is a robust product and I feel the on boarding screens can be displayed better.

Navigation

The hamburger icon is generally well recognizable. Why kill a universal icon which all users know and understand, and replace it with a new iteration for them to learn all over again.

Because I Knew what I want to achieve I came up with a sketch.

Paper sketch

High fidelity design concept

Preview the prototype

You can preview the prototype directly from your browser by clicking here

Feel free to comment below if you have any feedback!

Thanks for reading 😊

--

--