Life Update; Barstools cost HOW much ?

Jumokeadebiyi
4 min readAug 1, 2022

--

Hi guys !

Writing this particular post took so much mental preparation. Its been a long time since I had both time alone with my thoughts and the energy to document them.

Some of you are OGs and have been readers since I was 14 ( fka ‘diaryofateenager’ ); Thank you so much for that. On the other hand, some of you are first time readers (welcome!!). Whatever group you’re in , you hold a special place in my heart.

I decided to start afresh with this blog because I really do feel like a new person; so many of my views are different now and I needed a clean slate.

20 is such an interesting age. Some of my friends are climbing the corporate ladder , some will be married in the next year, some are simply trying to figure out what to eat for lunch. Although I relate more with the third group, I find comfort in the fact that there’s not one right answer to this life thing.

This year I really wanted a wholesome birthday experience, filled with self care and peace. What better way to do that than to take an impulsive trip. I decided to go to south beach Miami. You guys, Miami is gorgeous; the ambience, the water, I just loved it so much.

Only downside is that if you stay on south beach, prepare to pay tourist prices for literally everything. 10/10 experience though, I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Lets talk about GRADUATION. On May 6th 2022 your girl earned a B.B.A in Business Economics from THE Georgia State University. Walking the stage was probably the single happiest moment of my life so far. Followed closely by holding my mum while she shed tears of joy at the end of the ceremony. Very few things can top the feeling.

an educated black woman

I didn’t have a lot of time to take it all in though. I started an amazing Internship as a Marketing Analyst at NVIDIA a few days to graduation. Another super proud moment of mine. A key takeaway from my job hunting process is that who you know is much more important than what you know. Networking works and will put you in rooms that your degree will not.

I completed my internship last week and am now job hunting (again). Honestly, its been so hard. Rejection is something I really had to learn to manage. Being an international student means that you have to be 10x better than other candidates, like they have to really need you to hire you. I don’t blame them though, even I get tired of the paperwork it takes to even breathe as an ‘alien’ in this country.

This summer has been very connection heavy. My friendships have blossomed so much and my mental health has skyrocketed simultaneously. I also formed a romantic connection that I refuse to write about lol. We can call him x though, hopefully I’ll tell you more about him at some point.

My most exciting update yet, I moved into my new apartment (yay!). This is something I’m particularly grateful for. It took a lot of work but the help I got from God is unexplainable. I’m typing this article from my very unfinished apartment with my mattress on the floor, tv not mounted and no couch; but I feel like I’m at the Ritz .

One thing I’m still trying to wrap my head around is the culture shock that comes with moving out of student housing. I had absolutely no idea that beds and mattresses don’t come together….

I also realized that growing up, there were just some things that were always in the house. I never had to buy them so I never valued them. After seeing how much couches cost, I’ll never make fun of people who seem uptight about eating on the couch, or the ‘take your shoes off before you come in’ people.

Barstools shocked me the most. I initially thought that since I couldn’t afford a couch at the moment , why not buy some stools ? Imagine my surprise when i opened ikea and saw that the average price for ONE barstool is $150. Currently still healing from the headache that gave me.

I’m going to stop here so I have stuff to write in the future lol. Thank you again for reading !

A cool picture I took in Miami

Olajumoke Adebiyi

--

--