How To Create a Time Tracker Using Google Sheets to Master Your Craft

Mike Riddick
2 min readJan 6, 2018

Here is a Google Sheet using a line chart displaying my study and building time over the months.

With the all the podcasts and books on self-help, side hustle, and productivity I’ve not heard much on how long it takes someone to reach a goal. I know it’s about the journey but I wanted to see what the data looked like as I continue to learn new things daily. From reading The Compound Effect by Darren Hardy and Deep Work by Cal Newport I’ve seen how consistency, focus, and effort over time compounds to achieve goals on a to-do list. A quote from The Compound Effect “Winners Track Everything!” is a constant reminder that as you hone your skills make sure you establish a process and trend of good habits to increase productivity.

With an analyst mindset I like to see information organized in a way to drive action. A quick solution to this? Use Google Sheets where various spreadsheets can be setup in a dashboard manner. Using various types of charts I can access information from any device quickly for the latest info. Some of these spreadsheets I’ve created can track my debt, savings, and even the pomodoro technique I use to track completed tasks for the week.

From this I can tell how many hours I spent overall towards mastering a skill while referencing my passion planner as needed for additional details. No matter what is important to you now I hope this article helps you master your craft.

Here is how I created the line chart in Google Sheets to track my study time.

If you have any questions or comments let me know. Share this life hack with your friends!

--

--

Mike Riddick

Creative engineer looking to share a few good ideas. I help people automate days. Done App - http://bit.ly/2wOprf7, www.mriddick.com, and www.shinephotoapp.com