145-Hours of Water Fast Diet

Just a Bibliophile
3 min readNov 14, 2023

--

I have been overweight throughout my entire life. I don’t remember the last time I did not have the roll on my pelvic area — maybe at birth? I have tried, or attempted, shall I say, many diets and couldn’t stick to one strictly ever. But this time, I have decided to challenge myself with the extreme one: WATER FASTING. Here’s how it is going:

44 Hours of Water Fasting:

I am on my 44th-hour fast. I am documenting everything here, so if anybody reads it, they can relate to it or become aware of what to expect. However, I must tell you, everyone will have a different experience. Mine is as follows:

Hunger:

I actually don’t feel hungry. All my 25 years of life, food has been a routine for me. As if I lived for food. I counted seconds, minutes, and hours until the time of the meal came. Yes, I ate whenever I wanted, but instinctively, I had gaps in between. As a developed human, these gaps should have been productive time, but now that I realize it, this productivity came only because I was craving mealtime to arrive.

Now that I am determined not to eat and reach a certain hour goal, I actually don’t feel hungry, as I don’t wait for mealtime to arrive!

Productivity:

I don’t currently work or study, so this is not a factor for me, and I cannot speak for a productive outcome.

Sleep:

I had terrible sleep last night. I had two nightmares: one about a terrifying cult, and the second one I forgot. My eyes have been itching all day long, especially during sleep time. I slept around 1–1:15 am, woke up from a nightmare at 3:40 am, and then listened to audiobooks on YouTube for hours. After that, I slept from 5:20 am to 8:30 am. So, around 5 to 5:30 hours in total with immense headache and fatigue.

Exercise:

I exercised a lot, more than I thought I could. I feel strangely energized, especially today. I even went out for groceries today. Here are some of the results from Google Fit.

Cheating:

I cheat a lot; should I be ashamed? No.

  • At 13 hours in, I had tea with powdered milk.
  • At 18 hours in, I had 1/4th of a cucumber.
  • At 24 hours in, I had half a violet dragon fruit, 3 pieces of apple, and 2 dates, along with pasteurized milk with instant Mac coffee, which is 36 calories, and a bit of Horlicks powder, which is 18–25 calories.
  • Today, at 37 hours in, I had chai with powdered milk and a bit of Horlicks powder.
  • At 40 hours in, I had coffee with instant coffee mix and a Mac coffee pack with powdered sugar.
  • At 43 hours in, while I was writing this, I had half a carrot.

So, wish me luck, and I hope this ends well.

--

--

Just a Bibliophile
0 Followers

I'm stuck in a transitional phase from hibernation to start postgrad in a different country. Before things get messier, thought to drop by to blog my daily life