145-Hours of Water Fast Diet

Just a Bibliophile
4 min readNov 18, 2023

--

Done and dusted..!!!
I am so proud of myself. I am. These past 145 hours have been nothing but astonishing for me because I never thought I could do it!!

I have never been foodless for this long. Although I cheat a bit now and then just because of my tea and coffee addiction. However, I went sugar-free and foodless for 5 days.

My initial plan was to go for a 133-hour fast, as the ending time would have been at noon, and I could eat, but while making the chart, I made some calculative mistakes and had to draw for 140 hours. and living in a toxic environment, it is hard for me to cook and eat without answering someone's question or judgement, so I took it to 145 hours mid-night. That’s why I am here.

What is the Water Fast Diet?

As the question suggests, the water fasting diet involves consuming Only Water for a prolonged period of time for your body to push into ketosis. Our body is stored with energy, and on top of that, we eat so many foods a day. If we cut down on all of our food intake, we actually have more than an imaginable amount of stored energy to keep us alive and healthy.

I saw the longest period someone fasted was nearly 400 days, but the Guinness World Record did not record this due to the possibility of potential harm it may cause for people who are trying to lose weight under conditions (sick, anorexic)

Why did I do the Water Fast Diet?

I have been overweight my entire life; now my BMI is 32, and it is at the Obesity level. Although I didn’t medically check, I started to feel like a diabetic as it runs through my genes. I never not had the roll on my belly; my love handles are bigger than my butt; the mommy's arm is there; the dark neck and camel humps are there. I do not look good in the photo; I don’t look in the mirror anymore. Anyway, I cannot explain the pain I go through being a fat, obese person; unless you are one in a difficult environment, you wouldn’t understand anyway.

I have tried many diets but could never stick to one.

Versatile Vicky Egg Diet: failed on day 2/3.

Cabbage Soup Diet: failed on day 3 (this is a good one, and I actually lost weight, and I am going to try this again this winter).

OMAD: failed due to the craving for cha and coffee.

Intermittent Fasting: failed on day 4, same as above.

I never stay on a diet long enough to see changes. Most importantly, I HAVE A HUGE CRAVING FOR NOODLES AND PASTA. This has been holding me back ever since I learned to cook these.

At this point in my life, at the age of 25, I had to make a change, and I have given myself the chance to do so before I leave the country. So I decided to start with the worst and build my tolerance for foodless habits.

Did I cheat during the Water Fast?

Big YES. I did. Let me share the items I have.

1 tablespoon of milk powder everyday wth tea.
2 Instant coffee mix
1 table spoon of Horlicks Powder
1 cup of milk every day
2 eggs omelette on day 3
5 spoon full of khichuri on day 4
Half an apple almost everyday
3–4 Date fruits on second, third and fifth days.
I had a cookie yesterday
I ate 1 cube of dark chocolate on day third and 2 cubes today.
I will not count the plausible calories of these foods because, honestly, if you look deeply, this is the amount you eat in a day or more. So yeah, I cheated and am not unhappy about it.

Did I lose weight?

I started my journey at 179.4 lbs.
Today, after 132 hours of fasting later, I was 172 lbs.
So a total of 7 lbs down.

I think I could have doubled it if I wasn't eating the foods I had. But I am so proud of this result. This is the biggest amount of weight loss that happened within a short period of time in my entire life.

Would I do this again? Definitely. I will. I have lots of plans to prolong this diet in 46–2 hours of intermittent fasting. I will update here if anything happens.

--

--

Just a Bibliophile
0 Followers

I'm stuck in a transitional phase from hibernation to start postgrad in a different country. Before things get messier, thought to drop by to blog my daily life