Avocados: The Superfood

Justice Westmoreland
5 min readApr 4, 2020

By: Justice Westmoreland

Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Most children refuse to eat any food that is even relatively similar to a vegetable. When I was a child, anything green and mushy was completely out of the question. You would not catch me even ten feet away from brussels sprouts or broccoli. However, as I grew into my adult years, I realized how important these foods are for my overall health. Once I realized this concept, avocados quickly became my favorite food. This green, mushy substance has changed my life for the better due to the life-altering health benefits that avocados provide through enhancing healthy skin, promoting weight loss, and battling cancer.

As winter begins to present itself with bitterly cold wraths, our skin is dried out and progressively becomes damaged by the changing of the seasons. In order to help prevent this, avocados provide many essential vitamins in order to help rejuvenate and moisturize the skin. An article titled “Are These Foods Really Good for You?” published in Food Sense confirms, “The fruit supplies a healthy array of vitamins and minerals not often found together in one place. These include fiber, potassium, folate, and vitamins B6, C, E, and K” (7). A particular vitamin that has been found within avocados to be very helpful in protecting the skin is Vitamin E. Vitamin E is less commonly known as tocopherol. These are antioxidants found in many fruits and…

--

--

Justice Westmoreland

Welcome to my thoughts scattered neatly in blog articles. Here you will immerse yourself in a world of wander, depth, and knowledge!