Artificial Intellegence is NOT Irrelavent

Justin Mazzarese
3 min readApr 29, 2022

The other day I had an interesting occurance. It wasn’t that I lost my wallet, it was bound to happen. But it was that I recieved an email for ‘Lost Wallet,’ insurance within 24-hours of losing it.

Now as a former Adjunct for a Computers Course (nothing serious, but enough to make me privy), I know exactly what happened. During my job interview that I obviously had two days after I lost my wallet which had my license in it, which they needed to process my paperwork, which I could not show them because of said lost wallet, which is probably why I have not heard back from them, either my phone or their phone converted our conversation about my lost wallet from to text using voice recognitiion technology.

For those that are unitiated, words are the basis for algorithms and artificial intellegence. Without words, there is no software program to write, there is no language for the computer to interpret. Sounds obvious I know but you would be surprise how many people don’t question how the rabbit comes out of the magic hat, they just clap and be entertained.

Converting voice and sound to computer files always fascianted me. I never fully grasped how they did it and still don’t, but just know that it has to do with the sound waves created. I always tried to scoff at new technologies and I’m generally a late adopter to new products, but I must admit that I was thoroughly impressed when I discovered the Shazam app. I know that we have to jump in the time machine for that one, but keep in mind that I did not own an ipod until 2009 (maybe even 2011 :/) and I have never owned an Iphone; but slowly inching toward making that purchase.

I think that the converstion of sound waves and language is really what bridges the gap of artificial intellegence. From there it is into the brave new world. From there the computers learn words like a infant child. To put it in perspective,this infant child has learned every language on the planet before the age of five.

And the more words they learn, the more they listen to us in every language, the more the computers develop a personality. All with the conversation of sound waves — which is what occured to me, and occurs to everyone.

This is what boggles my mind. Not that the computers convert every conversation we have on multiple phones, but that people are complacent with it. I once read a blog post from Edward Snowden that said that “People saying that they are complacement with the government listening to their conversations because they’re not doing anything wrong, does not mean that the government should be listening, recording and documenting your conversations.”

However, the caveat becomes that we are willfully participating in it because none of us read the small print which allows them to do so — myself included.

So going back to the email I recieved from AAA regarding “Lost Wallet Insurance,” within 24-hours of losing my wallet. Somewhere along the lines, the computer documented “Lost Wallet,” and made AAA aware that I needed “Lost Wallet,” Insurance which they sent me an email.

To which I would say: It’s a little late to get lost wallet insurance and I am more into preventative maitenence. But perhaps the predicitive programming of artificial intellegence has calcutlated that I may lose my wallet again relatively soon, which is a WHOLE nother blog post.

--

--

Justin Mazzarese
0 Followers

I have a MA in Modern American Society, BA in journalism, Minor in Meteorology, was on my college debate team and GM of the campus Radio Station (91.7-WXCI)