Get time on your side.

Justin Brodeur
3 min readDec 8, 2014

--

People like to think the most important asset we have is time. Why do so many of us squander it?

A recent post by First Round claimed that 70% of our time could be used better. I know this is true, because I had been squandering my time. I didn’t think that I was. I felt like I was shipping on time and getting things done. But really I was having lots of meetings during the day and working my ass off at night to hit deliveries. I still do from time to time, but now I have a clear separation of time.

It all started when I came across this post by Jessica Hische. She’s on a quest to maximize her time and productivity. At the time that I had read her post she was just getting started with the process and was due to report back how it had worked for her. Inspired, I took her calendaring system and built out my own.

The idea was simple: optimize your work time, have some fun, and develop your mind and body. I was a little overzealous to start. I had myself walking my dog at 6am, having coffee alone at 6:30, and then prepping my kids lunches, checking email, shipping them off to school and daycare, and then a dizzying array of meetings, client devotion, and fun projects. Oh yeah, I also had days where I would each lunch with other people, days where I would eat lunch while reading a book, days where I would workout, and days where I would cook.

That lasted for about a week.

I like to stay up late, and I like to sleep late. It took some time but I’ve rejiggered my schedule and it now works for me. Today it looks more like this:

There’s a nice balance between the basic family stuff, work for money, and work for fun. Additionally, I’m trying to drop a few pounds so I’ve got five days of working out. I try to go for walks when I get into a problem that I need a break from. It’s good for me and our dog.

How is it working out? Well, I definitely feel more productive and a bit healthier. On the days that I work from home it provides much-needed structure. Instead of watching Sportscenter on loop or playing video games, my schedule forces me to be accountable.

If you really think about it, scheduling a day like this shouldn’t be a new habbit. Americans have enjoyed a structured schedule like this from kindergarten and on up through college.

Why is it that when we get into the workplace we all of a sudden have an open calendar and just plot random tasks into the grid between the hours of 9 to 5?

It didn’t work that way in 8th grade and it shouldn’t work that way now, where time is more precious than ever.

Get time on your side, try making an ultra-pimped out schedule and see what happens to your focus and productivity.

--

--

Justin Brodeur

Co-Founder of Pidalia, Partner at Gingham Ventures, grilled cheese aficionado.