Trump: Step Away from the American Flag

Lucretia Cahill
3 min readFeb 14, 2018

--

Maybe it was the elderly man waving the car-lot sized American flag on the corner as people went to the polls. Or the campaign flag stickers affixed on various vehicles as their engines roared by my minivan. I struggle to pinpoint the exact watershed moment, but during the last Presidential election there was a definite shift in my lifelong relationship with our beloved American flag.

Raising children and the flag with respect.

As a former Doorkeeper under the Sergeant at Arms in the United States Capitol, one of my jobs was to raise the flag when the Senate Chamber was in session. With great reverence and pride, we would access the roof of the Capitol from the Senate Sergeant at Arm’s office, and proceed to raise or lower the flag as needed. An extraordinary honor.

Growing up in public schools, and as a teacher, I’ve recited the Pledge of Allegiance thousands of times while gazing at the flag. Always cherishing those few tranquil seconds of my day while reflecting on my blessed life as an American.

I proceed with trepidation of one disclosing a lice infestation during a birthday party, as I share my unsettling feeling toward the symbol of our freedom.

In all honesty, our flag did nothing wrong, it was in a sense, guilty by association.

Here’s why…

Old Glory was a pawn in the Trump Campaign. One day waving proud and free, then suddenly, like gum stuck to the bottom of a shoe, forced to sit next to the Trump name for months. Aggravating the situation, a recycled slogan from President Reagan’s campaign, “Let’s make America great again” was tacked to then-candidate Trump’s signs. Lacking any creative genius, Trump simply dropped the word “Let’s” and called it his own. As his train wreck presidency is known, taking credit where it is never due.

Trump hugs flags, talks about flags, and even slaps clipart flags on his tweets. Of course, the symbols he uses aren’t American flags, but simply a 39-star flag that never existed. But, given his history, we can’t expect our current president to count all the way to 50 when searching for clipart.

I was truly bothered by this political branding when one of my children asked if I had a sticker to put on a bag for school. Reaching into a drawer, I pulled out an American flag sticker. He said, “No thanks, it reminds me of Trump.” “Me too”, I agreed sadly.

Practically, I knew Trump albeit our current president, was definitely not representative of a true American, yet with muscle memory, our brains still connected the name Trump with our flag. Stepping onto my well-worn, mom soapbox, I reminded my children that Trump’s continuing torrent of lies, shameless bigotry and racism, crude language, and insults to women are examples of what NOT to do, think or act.

Ever.

Like bullies in school, mean girls, or crude texts. Ignore, ignore, ignore. When necessary, I continued, go old-school and cover your ears repeating, “I can’t hear you, I can’t hear you” incessantly until he goes away.

My nausea continued, thinking about Mr. Trump scouring nooks and crannies for President Obama’s birth certificate in an attempt to prove he was not born in the United States.

Trump clung to a lie, again.

If only there was a respect, love, and kindness certificate required to be an American. These are the qualities that have kept our country “great” through good times and bad. Watching the Olympic athletes wrap themselves in the flag and show their outpouring of respect for health, country, and our fellow man, is a pleasant reminder of what constitutes true Americans.

As my children age, I wish I had a pause button to slow down the next four years of high school, yet fast forward through the term of our current President.

Mr. Trump, your sophomoric sense of power and a false sense of respect for country and women will never squelch my love for the American flag. Too many have fought and lost their lives for our freedom, to let your foolishness blemish our love of country and any symbols representing our United States of America. I’m sure the North Korean or Russian flags would welcome your hugs.

--

--