Circadian Walk: What it is, Why You Should Do It, and How.

Jennifer
2 min readFeb 22, 2022

--

graphic of a serene bedroom; sleeping well matters

Daily walking, combined with sunlight, may equal better sleep and daytime function; here’s how you can take steps (literally) toward a healthy circadian rhythm.

I’ve been walking, on average, 5 days/week, since last April, and while I initially started as a form of exercise, I’ve gotten so much more out of my daily walks. Hitting my goal of 10,000 steps/day has never been easier; I find that I have much more energy, and I am generally happier during the day; I didn’t struggle with mild swelling in my legs and ankles over the summer; my sleep has nearly returned to normal after being affected by hormonal changes; and I have an overall sense of accomplishment in creating and maintaining this habit, nearly 10 months later.

After putting thought into all of these outcomes, I wanted to know: was this daily walk really responsible for all of the beneficial changes I was experiencing; could this time spent outside be the main reason my spirits were lifted, my energy levels heightened? Here’s what I found out…

Circadian rhythm is defined as the natural cycle of physical, mental, and behavior changes that the body goes through in a 24-hour cycle. Circadian rhythms are mostly affected by light and darkness and are controlled by a small area in the middle of the brain. They can affect sleep, body temperature, hormones, appetite, and other body functions. Abnormal circadian rhythms may be linked to obesity, diabetes, depression, bipolar disorder, seasonal affective disorder, and sleep disorders such as insomnia. Circadian rhythm is sometimes called the “body’s clock.”

Light therapy, or phototherapy, can help with many disorders such as, seasonal affective disorder, depression, post traumatic stress disorder, and dementia. Morning sunlight can help you sleep better, and set you up for more energy to get through the day. Walking (mild exercise) can increase serotonin levels, while movement helps with circulation; the sun’s rays (less potent in the early morning) provide needed Vitamin D, and being out in nature-sights, sounds, sensations, all contribute to an overall sense of wellbeing.

Any walk will do: 15, 30, 45 minutes; around the block or down the street-do what you can do. Your speed doesn’t matter either; slow and steady is just fine. The point here is to get out in the daylight, feel the sun, move your body. Morning is best, getting out before anything else can get in your way, but any time that works for you will provide benefits.

Winter weather in the Northeast has hindered my efforts a bit, but unless it’s unsafe to get out, I’ve been able to continue my daily walks, and I plan to continue, for as long as I can. The benefits of this habit are far too important to ignore!

--

--

Jennifer

Writing as a form of finding my way through the back half of my life.