turfjs in mapbox.js

Jordan Rousseau
1 min readAug 27, 2014

--

27 Aug 2014

In a recent browsing through twitter, I discovered Turfjs. Turfjs is an open-source gis engine written in JavaScript. Morgan Herlocker (@morganherlocker) is the creator of the project and is a great Twitter resource. Go follow him!

Since using Turfjs in a recent project, I have become addicted. I’m trying to introduce it to as many people as I can (especially at work). While anyone with gis knowledge can pick up how to use each module, I thought it might be a steep learning curve for non-gis folk.

In a non-applicable way, I started to think that mapbox.js could be a great resource to show off the functionality of Turfjs.

Enter my latest project. I shamelessly used the layout of the mapbox.js examples (at least I’m not the first one to do it) to show off each TurfJS module. I’m hoping the folks at Mapbox will take the imitation as a sincere form of flattery!

I’m not quite done with the examples. I will be working those out as soon as I can, but I’m stoked about getting the examples out there so folks can visualize the power of Turfjs.

You can check out the examples at http://rousseau.io/turf-mapboxjs

Also, here is my github project if you want to contribute https://github.com/jvrousseau/turf-mapboxjs

Originally published at rousseau.io on August 27, 2014.

--

--