Justin Béchard
1 min readApr 27, 2017

--

Greetings Lorenzo,

“I’ve never seen a project with 100 views being featured and if you think about it, it makes sense.”

Actually I can confirm that there are projects under 100 views that are featured sometimes. I got myself projects featured that were 90–130 views!

I think it may happen when you already got a bunch of projects featured before. From that moment, I guess Adobe’s curator Oscar Amos Orozco got you on his radar, somehow.

As you said, there is no exact science. Sometimes, just a single project might give you over 100k views. That’s what happened to me. 3 years ago, I uploaded a project called Gauthier&Nolet and next thing I now, it was shared on multiple inspiration platforms generating even more traffic on this very same project.

Changing subject, I got a little bit crazy with Behance… it used to be my daily routine and the numbers were THE THING for me. Even though it landed me my first job, I realized that it was just unhealthy for me and my career… like if my talent was based only on those likes, followers and views.

I’m noticing an increase of projects on Behance made only to get views and fame… that is not what design is meant to be. It saddens me to see all these people comment only to get new followers or generating new traffic on their profile. Numbers don’t mean anything indeed; I know what I’m talking about.

People should concentrate on getting better, not getting followers; that’s Behance’s true purpose (Be enhanced).

--

--