The Book of Jeezy, Verse 1: And Then What

JVZZI
3 min readJan 4, 2017

--

If I were to pinpoint a present day motivator, in the likes of TD Jakes or Les Brown, someone who can get me out of bed, and motivate me to put my hustle to the concrete, my first thought would Jeezy. That should be no surprise, ‘Jeezy is my life coach’ is literally a line in my bio.

Jeezy, with the commanding drawl of a baptist pastor, has an aspirational message. Crack may be Jeezy’s hustle, but the ideology is universal to all of us with high ambition. And just like the parables of Christ in the Bible, you too can find life’s lessons and hacks for success. For example, ‘And Then what’ is an outline of the importance of vision and owning your schedule.

First I’m gone stack my flo’ (And then what?)
Then I’m gone stack some mo’ (And then what?)
Close shop then I do my count
Hide the rest of the yams at my auntie house(And then what?)
Get fresh and jump in one of dem cars (Yeah)
Hit the club and get one of dem broads (And then what?)
It’s a wrap, we on the way to the house; by 3:45 I be kickin’ her out

In the hook to “and then what” Jeezy gives us a play by play for the day he sees before him. This vision, is not just to assure him a goodnight on the town, but how he’s going to complete his goal, in order to reap his rewards.

Success is as attainable as your vision. Without a clear vision, there is no clear path.

One key that I live by, own your schedule or someone else will. if you’re self-employed, a freelancer, or an entrepreneur, this belief is what drives you to maintain your routine, and value your time. Every day, every hour, every minute counts. That's what Jeezy reminds as he gives us a line by line play of his day, down to the hour in which he plans to kick his girl out.

I say that to say this, when I am seeking extra motivation, I look to Jeezy. As others attribute rappers, as being the storytellers of the ghetto landscape, I myself see rappers as path builders for success.

___

Read More — BraveNewUrban.com | Follow Us @BraveNewUrban

--

--

JVZZI

Curator In Chief, Brave New Urban • Designer/Illustrator • Jeezy Is My Life Coach • Read More —http://BraveNewUrban.com