RSA Encryption

Justin Wells
2 min readOct 30, 2023

--

After watching the Ted Talk, “Think your email’s private? Think again.” where guest speaker Andy Yen talks about the secure mail encryption service he has set up called ProtonMail that utilizes RSA Encryption, and while having a foundational understanding of how RSA Encryption works from a previous class it was really familiar to me the concept and seeing the application of it was super fascinating, and he did a really good job explaining how it worked! Overall this idea of RSA Encryption being applied to protect our data is really fantastic and offers a great solution to this part of the dilemma, taking back a small bit of privacy back into our lives. Overall from this unit, I’ve learned a lot I did not know simply how much and how big this issue was before the talks about how smart devices send so much data was baffling to me. My takeaway from this is largely just being more aware of what data is given out but overall my thoughts are largely unchanged I thought it was an issue before and my ideal solutions to it still hold, just the scale of the issue is larger than I initially anticipated. Having had done minor activities in class with RSA Encryption I found that really fascinating how they managed to implement it, and has inspired me largely to look into it and find other ways to implement it for my own uses. Though at the end of the day it really just blows my mind that people even come up with things like the RSA Encryption having had it explained to me I understand it but like I dont think I could have ever come up with the idea myself let alone thought of how to make it work yet some human did, and that is really truly amazing.

Sources:
Yen, Andy. “Think Your Email’s Private? Think Again.” Andy Yen: Think Your Email’s Private? Think Again | TED Talk, www.ted.com/talks/andy_yen_think_your_email_s_private_think_again?language=en. Accessed 29 Oct. 2023.

--

--

Justin Wells
0 Followers

My name is Justin Wells, He / Him, Im a computer Science Major with a Intended IS minor, I love playing video games, Watching movies, and doing art!