axe

5 Tips for Guitar Beginners

Justin W. Siddons
3 min readJun 17, 2013

I began playing the guitar when I was in high school. My Dad had given me a dusty old acoustic that he purchased before I was even born. Needless to say it was in terrible condition. The neck was warped, the strings were dirty, playing any music was murder on my fingers but I loved it.

14 years later, I’ve taken many music lessons, played in numerous bands, and even published original music. With my experience I often get asked for advice on what someone should do when they are considering learning to play the guitar. After everything I’ve learned, I offer up these quick tips.

1. Buy a crappy guitar.

Do not spend a fortune on your first guitar. In time you will be able to feel the difference between a well made guitar and a poor quality one, so no need to break the bank. The first guitar I bought was a standard Fender acoustic that cost me around $100 on sale. It took me 6 years before I dropped a big chunk of cash on a fancy new Ovation acoustic. If it wasn’t for my first crappy guitar(s) I wouldn’t have appreciated the craftsmanship of the Ovation as much as I did.

2. Start with an acoustic guitar.

Acoustic guitars are lighter and built to be mobile so that you can play anywhere. Electric guitars are heavy and are best when paired with an amplifier. The accessibility of an acoustic guitar will make practicing easier when you don’t have to rely on electricity. Also acoustics are tougher on your fingers which help you build those sweet calluses all the real pros have. After your calluses are tough enough, shredding on an electric will be that much easier.

3. Learn to play the guitar before learning to play.

Picking up any instrument for the first time is daunting and half the battle is getting comfortable playing. A lot of beginners sign up for lessons without even knowing how to play one chord. So after you buy your crappy guitar just become familiar with it. Strum the strings, finger the frets, really get the feel for your new instrument. The more familiar you are with your guitar the easier taking lessons or learning songs will be.

4. Green Day songs are super easy.

Guitar music tabs are awesome for beginners. You don’t need to be able to read music to read guitar tabs. A tabbed song is a literal map of where to put your fingers on the guitar while you play through the song. When I was getting familiar with my guitar I hit the internet for Green Day tabs because their songs are very easy to play. As well, their style of punk-rock uses power chords which are great for teaching you the basics of baring the frets. Look up all your favorite songs and challenge yourself. The harder the song is to play the better you will become for learning it.

5. Never put away your guitar.

Learning any new hobby is tough because your attempting to add this new habit into your daily routine. The best way to help you remember to practice is to place your guitar in plain sight so it can act as the reminder. Hiding your guitar away in the case in your closet doesn’t help you remember to play. So do yourself a favor and buy a guitar stand and store your guitar in the room you spend the most time in. I have a guitar tucked in the corner of my bedroom, my living room, and next to my desk in the basement. With any amount of free time close proximity to your guitar makes it very easy to just pick up and play.

I hope you found some decent guidance in these 5 tips. I always love quick easy ways to learn new things because the internet can be so overwhelming with instructional material. Good luck on your quest, if you feel I left anything out definitely give me a shout. \m/

--

--

Justin W. Siddons

Living that #DadLifeAF. Sr Product Designer at Blackbox. I drink way too much root beer cheersrootbeers.tumblr.com