11 Sites to Find Freelance Writing Jobs Right Now

Does not include Upwork.

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

--

So, I’ve written before about finding clients through social media like Instagram and how to directly email potential clients/companies.

Those are the two main ways I have historically marketed myself.

However, I also access job boards and find new clients that way, and I want to highlight certain sites that I have found are good for applying to freelance roles.

Now, I am not going to mention Upwork or Fiverr or other content mill-type sites in this post. If you’ve been with me for a while, you already know why but in case you’re new here: I do not use or like these sites. Especially Upwork and their ilk. I feel it is a race to the bottom and the pay rates are too low and perpetuate a vicious cycle of valuing quantity over quality.

I am also not going to list LinkedIn, Indeed, Careerbuilder, etc. While they ARE online job sites that sometimes list freelance roles, I personally have found that they are not great for freelance job searching. There also tends to be a lot of competition here, making it less likely to get a response to your application.

All of the below job sites are FREE. There are also some that are more of a fee-based or subscription-based model, such as SolidGigs and FlexJobs.

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com