Freelancing & Sick Days

Waaah I’m sick. :( My saga of going to the doctor today.

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

--

Being an entrepreneur or a full-time freelancer comes with both advantages and disadvantages, just as any other job.

Some of the advantages are obvious:

  • Be your own boss
  • Choose who you work with (clients, contractors, vendors, etc.)
  • Set your own pay rate
  • Work the hours you want (mostly, with caveats)

But the disadvantages are real, too:

  • No paid time off (vacations, sick time…)
  • Must market and promote yourself constantly
  • Can be unstable and/or cyclical
  • Often you’ll work harder than you think and longer hours
  • Never disconnected — it's far easier to “bring your work home with you”

95% of the time I love being a freelancer.

I get to work with amazing clients and do incredibly diverse and interesting work. I also set my own pay rate and can take on more clients to make more money. And I love the work I get to do.

--

--

Jyssica Schwartz
Write Out Loud

Manging editor. entrepreneur, writer, editor, cat lover, weirdo, optimist. Author of “Write. Get Paid. Repeat.” & “Concept to Conclusion.” jyssicaschwartz.com