CS371p Fall 2022: Joseph Cui

Joseph Cui
2 min readNov 7, 2022

--

  • What did you do this past week?

I began drafting/writing the header files for the new project, Darwin. It was a little difficult in the beginning, but I think I’ve managed to get the design down and ready to actually start implementing.

Outside of this class, I’ve been chilling mostly, hanging out with friends and sleeping a lot.

  • What’s in your way?

I want to try and finish Darwin before the end of the week so I can relax on the weekend, but I’ve got another project from another class that’s due this Wednesday.

I still need to get back on that gym grind, and I’m thinking about adopting a cat. I’ve got to do some research beforehand for that.

  • What will you do next week?

Finish Darwin, sleep some more, hang out with friends, finish building the Lego set my girlfriend bought me, etc.

  • What did you think of Paper 11. More on getters and setters?

After this article, I feel more understanding of the requirements of the Darwin project. It was frustrating at first with the disallowing of getters and setters, but after finishing my design and reading the article, I fully enderstand that most of the time, getters and setters are unnecessary and dangerous.

  • What was your experience of initializer_list and vector? (this question will vary, week to week)

Initializer_list was a little bit new to me, but I feel like I more or less understood the general gist of it. I did find it confusing that C++ has a lot of arbitrary rules surrounding it and class constructors. Vector, meanwhile, felt pretty natural to me after all the lectures on OOD.

  • What made you happy this week?

Building Legos with friends! :)

  • What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

AMD released their new higher-end graphics card lineup late last week, and it’s been all the talk in tech news. I find the competition with Nvidia interesting and a good thing to follow (who knows, maybe you’ll end up working for one of them down the line).

https://www.amd.com/en/graphics/radeon-rx-graphics

--

--