#1 The University of Gastronomic Sciences

KAORI SHIBATA
3 min readDec 28, 2023

--

First year of the University of Gastronomic Sciences, Master’s Program in 2005

Perugia in Umbria ©︎kaori_shibata

Preparation period of enrollment to the University of Gastronomic Sciences

I had heard that Perugia is a town of hills, but the ups and downs of the roads in this town, and the way the roads snake and collapse, were incredible. I decided to go for a walk in the neighborhood and went out without a map, only to find myself in trouble. I walked along the road, but it was a very bumpy walk. There was no sign of the road, and I had no idea where I was going. I found myself in a completely unknown place. Where I am? Worst of all, I had no choice but to go uphill again.

in the town of Perugia. ©︎kaori_shibata

There is the University for Foreigners of Perugia, where students come from various countries to study Italian language and culture. I’m one of them too. I have decided to study Italian at first before entering a university of my choice.

University for Foreigners of Perugia ©︎kaori_shibata

One day I learned of that a new university called Universita` di Scienze Gastronomiche (University of Gastronomic Sciences) which was to be established this fall in 2004 by Slow Food Association, and I thought it would be interesting to be one of the first students, so I took the entrance exam. I had been a member of the Slow Food Association in Japan, which is headquartered in Italy, and I was intrigued by the fact that they had finally involved the government and established a university.

I heard that the university system in Italy changes frequently, and now it is a 3-year course (general course) + 2-year course (specialized course, like a graduate school?). After the submitting my application, I received an examination number. The exam was done via internet and could be connected only for 3 hours. After that I was informed that I should come to the specialized course, but if I prefer the 3-year course, please let them know. I have heard that the specialized course would start up in 3 years, but they said that it would start up early next year. I wondered if this was true.

The permission to establish university by the Italian government, which was scheduled to be granted in mid-May, was still not forthcoming as of July. I was impressed that may be Italian style. It means that social system does not work well to begin with, and furthermore it is just vacation season. Is this really how this year is going to start? So, I came to Perugia at the end of June to study Italian properly for the time being. Umbria, where Perugia is located, is known as one of the medieval regions in Italy, so I thought it would be a good place to spend some time.

Perugia is known as the cioccolato town.

The Baldesca Residenza is located in the center of Centro Centro (the center of the town) and is quite comfortable with air conditioning (a rarity here) and ADSL connection (also a rarity).I booked the room on the internet as a place to stay for the time being. It is right behind the cathedral, so you can hear the bells ringing, and my room is at the corner on the 5th floor, so there is a very nice breeze in the morning and evening. I was so comfortable that I tried to extend my stay , but was told that the rooms were full until August.

--

--

KAORI SHIBATA

Food Navigator, Representative of KOTODAMA PRESS Co.,Ltd."KOTODAMA"is the anima of words in Japanese. I work in Food and Communication.