Some newly app I’m trying.

k4m1tsuki
6 min readDec 17, 2022

--

Scrintal, Supernotes, Anytype, Capacities, Tana and Dona.

👋Hi, today I want to introduce app I’m trying. There have been many new app recently that I am aware of. Some of the apps I have just started using, so I may not be able to go into that much detail, but I hope it will be helpful to someone.👍

Scrintal

I have been trying a couple of month ago. This is early access stage. I don’t remember where I knew it, I am interested in visualize note-taking. Scrintal can be organized each notes visually, like Freeboard in PC ver. It’s amazing for me, there are many note-taking app like Logseq, but I don’t know any other app that like strong of visually.

The connections between each note are clearly visualized, making it easy to approach and manage the knowledge needed. This helps all my thoughts at a glance.

Scrintal

Recommend:

  • Someone who like Sticky Notes.
  • Someone who want to see visually.

No-needed:

  • Someone who like text base management app.
  • Someone who like and use iPad or real notebook to create visual note.

Supernotes

I really love their design, Fonts, color, illustrations and all of them. Of course, Supernotes is nice card style note-taking app. I think it is a little bit unique system, compare than other note-taking app. But in a card, I can do everything, like tagging, give card a parent, of course link and image, insert template, and change color and icons. It is very convenient and does not require you to press another button to tag or move to an area other than the area where you enter some text.

Not only the desktop ver, but there is already a mobile one, and a web clipper is scheduled to appear, so I think it will become more and more useful in the future.

Supernotes

Recommend:

  • Someone who love their design.
  • Someone who like a card style.
  • Someone who want to use in both desktop and mobile.

No-needed:

  • Someone who want to manage tags and folders in more detail and edit them to their liking.
  • Someone who find it time-consuming to edit colors and icons to their liking.
  • Someone who simply need only text.

Anytype

Anytype is simple modern personal knowledge base. It’s like Notion, so people who like Notion like and want to use it. Because they provide a local-first and e2e secure environment. In fact, I feel Anytype is really fast like no loading. And for me, Notion is too complex because it has too many functions and is great for certain things (e.g., project management), but for personal knowledge management, I would recommend something simple and easy to read like Anytype.

Look at my home page, this is one of my favorite point of Anytype. This is really stylish and easy to reach note that I need.

Anytype

Recommend:

  • Someone who like Notion.
  • Someone who already use Notion, but get more simple.
  • Someone who value security above all else.

No-needed:

  • Someone who have already mastered the Notion’s complex system to their liking.
  • Someone who want to display Kanban display, graph display, etc. in various ways.

Capacities

Capacities may be a common note-taking app, but it keeps up with recent trends and has a full set of major features. And the fact that the basic functions are free of charge is another reason why this is an option that many people consider. Of course, you will have to pay for extended features and more personalization, but the free plan has enough features to try it out, with no block limits and the ability to import and export.

However, the desktop ver has only recently been released, and I feel that there are still some minor bugs and usability issues. For example, when moving up and down within a note, if there is a tag between the text, the keyboard alone cannot be used to select the text above the tag.

Capacities

Recommend:

  • Someone who like Kanban view.
  • Someone who need simple note-taking app.

No-needed:

  • Someone who already want things to be perfect.
  • Someone who often use and manage tags (currently only, may improve later.)

Tana

Tana is currently my favorite app and if a desktop ver is released, this will probably be the main app I will use. Tana is mainly bullet style note-taking app, like Logseq and Dynalist. What makes it different from those app, however, is that it is strongly linked.

They says “Everything OS”, and that’s exactly what it is, and for me, this year is almost over, and this is the best app I have tried in 2022. Of course I think they are doing the best they can, but I can’t wait for the desktop and mobile ver to come out.

Tana

Recommend:

  • Someone who like Logseq or Dynalist.
  • Someone who like linked and easy to view note.
  • Someone who need a bullet style.

No-needed:

  • Someone who don’t like a bullet style.
  • Someone who want to manage as card or more visualize.
  • Someone who currently need desktop or mobile ver.

These are note-taking app.

The upcoming apps I have just introduced were all note-taking apps, but the last one I will introduce is a simple to-do list app.

Dona

I’ve tried so many to-do list apps, Wunderlist, Microsoft To-do, Google To-do, ticktick, Todoist, Blink, Habitify, Productive, Sorted3 and a number of others in the App Store that are not that well known. Right now I am using Sorted3 and was going to replace that with a routine app as well. But I found Dona, I’m wondering which is better to manage my tasks.

Dona is fast and delightful to-do list app. It functions as a basic to-do list, and although it is still under development, it is one of the apps I’m looking forward to seeing in the future.

Dona

Recommend:

  • Someone who want to try new one.
  • Someone who like app that work fast.

No-needed:

  • Super to-do list heavy user.(It’s still under development.)
  • Someone who need desktop or mobile app.

That’s all.

These are the apps I am in the process of trying out. These are stylish, on-trend designs, each unique futures and fun to use it. Did you find apps that you are trying too? If you have an app you are trying that is not here, please share it with us. Please note that some applications are early access by invitation only. We need to be patient.🫶

--

--