Here’s to the original momic: MOMS MABLEY

Kristine Marie Gallagher/MOMic
2 min readJun 12, 2024

--

The oldest comediennes I was familiar with were Phyllis Diller and Joan Rivers.

It wasn’t until I took a Comedy Class called Lady Laughs with the incomparable Dina Nina Martinez that I got exposed to Our First Lady of Funny. She went by the stagename MOMS MABLEY.

I’ll let you read about her on wiki or watch the Special about her Whoopie Goldberg did. She’s also featured(played by the great Wanda Sykes) in the Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.

Even watching old reels of her, I found myself pealing with laughter. To stand the test of time — now that’s legacy.

I know why I likely didn’t hear of Moms Mabley until my 50s. I think everyone ought to check her out.

There seems to be a growing number of momics, which is a generic term for a woman with children who tries to act like a comic.

I think there always were funny mummies. Most didn’t make it to big stages though.

When I watch other momics though I find myself pulling away at times a bit. When I hear anyone say how great their life is due to their doctor-hubby or disposable income, I cringe a bit.

I am not jealous by any means. I was married. It didn’t suit me or him with me.

I don’t have a great deal of cash, but I have some.

Sometimes I think “what is wrong with you?!?” But it finally occurred to me. I’m not just a momic. I am a SINGLE momic.

And therein lies the difference.

I don’t share the same protection. My experiences can best be described as unconventional. I’m also less interested in getting my voice heard. I’d rather boost some of the others up the ladder.

Momics come in all shapes, shades, sizes. I hope the world sees that too.

--

--

Kristine Marie Gallagher/MOMic

55yo retired/fired public school teacher now standup comic, mother of 2: girl/boy, adopted/biological, Black/tan, Special Needs/Ivy League. Unconventional. Kind