Meta

New Writers, Don’t Shy Away From Talking About Money — MPP, Membership, and Medium

I’m waiting for the MPP to open in my country. So that it covers my membership the least!

Rimi Creates
5 min readSep 11, 2023
Raining money
Image by Juicy_fish on freepik.com

MPP has always been a hot topic, especially for the writers who have been anticipating being a part of it for years now.

As per the previous updates, I was hoping to join MPP soon, right after becoming a member (which I have yet to upgrade). Since I have had at least one story published in six months, the 100-follower requirement is no longer applicable, as you all know.

Unfortunately, it’s still not the right time for writers from countries like Brazil, India, and the Philippines.

According to the latest updates, we have to wait at least until October for further news.

I know it’s disheartening. I began writing here this month only, and it still feels terrible to learn that my stories aren’t yet eligible to even earn some dimes.

No, I didn’t join Medium to get rich quick or to make a $$$. Nope! Because I am a realist, and as much as I want to be one of those 8% of creators here who actually earn substantially with their stories, I have a long way to go to reach that point in my writing journey. Or I might never get there. But that’s okay. That’s not what I’m concerned about.

I am among those who aren’t eligible to earn through a platform like Medium that advocates inclusivity.

Umm…

The steps Medium is finally taking in 2023 in full force should have been taken sooner when it was still seeing its golden era. To attract a diverse group of writers and readers. However, I applaud Medium for constantly coming up with solutions to make MPP functional for more and more countries despite facing challenges.

After all, your geographical position should not hinder your opportunities for growth and betterment.

Now, coming to the monetary part of it, some would argue that money should not be in the picture when you are a writer or a creator in general. I have seen countless people, and even creatives themselves, say that money is not what they are writing for. Sorry, I respect your ideologies, though that doesn’t necessarily make me think highly of you. Sorry, not sorry!

I have also witnessed writers being called out or bullied for promoting their content and services by fellow creatives. But who is to blame here? The creator world or economy is its own enemy, from my point of view. Plus, there are many pitfalls that novice writers like me fall into at the beginning of their journey.

It’s terrible, I know.

And don’t even get me started on the ingrained dilemma of whether or not to market yourself as a writer. I have been there and done that. And I finally decided that I am not going to shy away from talking about the monetary aspects of writing on Medium or any creative pursuit for that matter.

Neither should you!

Part of the problem with talking about money is that, so often, the people who don’t have to worry about it never talk about it. But we’d all be a lot happier if we were honest about the fact that some of us have advantages.

Where others don’t!

Money going out of magician hat
Image by Dooder on freepik.com

We don’t have to take ourselves so seriously or be so taboo about money. We were always taught that money was the one thing you shouldn’t discuss, but to be honest, that’s bulls***. That’s what’s holding us back. And that’s what we’re going to change together.

Nevertheless, I am hoping for the best. And I believe the coming couple of months are going to be crucial for those waiting to join Medium Partner Program.

I am one of them.

I understand you don’t need to opt for a paid membership to open an account and write on Medium.

As far as only the writing part of it is concerned, you really don’t need to care about being a paid member until and unless you don’t want to get paid for your writing.

You can post your stories and read up to three stories per month. It sounds perfect for someone who doesn’t care much about the community, engagement, or earnings here. And someone who’s all content shouting into a void. But I am not. I’m here to ask for better.

Or at least equal, if not better.

Both the writer and reader in me are highly pissed at the fact that I still have to wait a couple months to join MPP to cover the few cents of my annual membership payment and to support the other creators as well.

I know $5/month doesn’t seem much to many, but it’s still a significant amount for someone like me.

I can pay my entire month’s broadband bill if I add a couple of dollars to that amount. For now, I would have to stick to my access to three members-only stories per month.

While Medium doesn’t owe you anything, there should be fair opportunities for everyone to strive for growth. Let the rest depend on the success of your content and the strategy that you use to market it.

Nevertheless, I can still continue to write and post my content, engage with my readers in the comment box, and at least read up to three paywall stories per month. That’s fine for now.

So, thank you, Medium!

I know I’m not the best, but if you enjoyed my writing, would you like to buy me a coffee?👇

Help this student survive college!

Every bit of support coming my way means the world to me. No pressure! But if you can, please show your support with a tip. I don’t spend your $5 on some expensive ☕️ (I love coffee, but I’ve got to support myself first). P.S.: There are no Starbucks or McDonald’s in my town, so I can’t cheat. 😉

--

--

Rimi Creates

Each new adventure explored and every unfamiliar path walked becomes a source of inspiration in my writing.