A Sign of Hope

When Waters Rise
2 min readJul 20, 2017

--

June 4, 2017

A couple of weeks ago, my husband and I were driving home from visiting my parents. It was the night before we were to meet our new doctor and I was filled with dread. I was worried our appointment would be a replay of the nightmare that had taken place at the previous hospital where I was told to terminate my pregnancy because there was nothing to be done for the baby. I couldn’t get that day out of my head and I felt that if I had to face another doctor who didn’t understand my absolute need to continue this pregnancy, I would lose it.

As my husband drove, I found myself saying, “God, I just need something.” I didn’t even quite know what that meant, but I needed something to hold onto to make it through that appointment. When we pulled into our driveway, we decided to check the mail and, tucked away in a pretty envelope, was this necklace from my dear friend @emma_alena . In the letter she wrote to me she explained how she felt prompted by God to send it to me. It had belonged to her during a tough season in her own life, and she felt strongly that she was to pass it along to me. She wrote “Hold onto it when strangers ask hard questions. Grip it tight when the tears won’t stop. May it be a tangible reminder of God’s presence in your life and of the hope that you have in Heaven.”

I am so thankful to my friend who listened to God’s prompting and sent me such a personally important item. I’m in awe of God’s timing and the fact that when I cried out to him that I just needed something, that something arrived.

The diagnosis of this pregnancy has not changed, the doctor’s opinion has not changed, but my my husband and I will not place our hope in either of those things. We are painfully aware of the sorrow that is likely to meet us at the close of this season, but we are holding onto the hope we have in Christ. Regardless of the outcome, be it death or life, we choose to give glory to God whom we know we can trust with the life of our baby, and our own. We choose to hope in the promise that Christ will work all things together for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

--

--

When Waters Rise

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you…. Do not be afraid, for I am with you.