Movie Review | Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole

凱西
3 min readJan 20, 2021

--

So you have to be the one that is ‘smart and brave enough to resist’ to be qualified to get the help.

Last Christmas, our English teacher showed us this animated movie. At the very beginning,I thought those owls looked so evil. But after a couple of minutes, I was totally attracted by the story. After watching the movie, I browsed for this movie on some movie platforms, such as IMDB or Rotten Tomatoes. Surprisingly, it didn’t get high approval. This movie is in a quite fast temple, therefore, some of the details might not be explained thoroughly, maybe this is a reason why it didn’t get an excellent grade. However, this is a good movie for me.

The story is about the conflict between owls and the contention of the throne. The main character Soren is an owl from the Tyto forest, and he has a brother Kludd. One day they accidentally fell down from the branches, as the baby owls, they haven’t figured out how to fly. Then, two mature owls kidnapped them and brought them to an owl kingdom. Some elite species of owl will be trained to be worrier, the others will be brainwashed and forced to be laborers. Soren and another owl Gylfie escape from the kingdom, but his brother stayed and became a warrior. Soren and Gylfie took a long trip to go to the owl legend land. They told the elders that there is some evil power gathering. The elders and elite owls assembled and fought with the evil Kingdom. At last Soren surprisingly kills the head of the evil kingdom, and the story ends.

Review

The story outline may seem very violent and heroism, however, this is an anti-war movie. One of my aspired scenes is that Soren, the main character, used to hear the legend story from his father. The legend is about an owl hero who defeated a troop of owls. The hero owl lives in the owl holy place, Ga’Hoole. As the story goes, Soren and his friends actually went to Ga’Hoole, and met the hero. Soren read the original version of the legend story, and he noticed that the owl hero is not actually glory, his title is built by the other owls’ blood.

To be honest, I like the anti-war genre of movies or novels. As a normal person, I don’t have any power to control the war, and I won’t get any benefit from the war, therefore, I don’t like war. Sometimes, I am really curious about why some people like war so much. Therefore, I try to put myself in their shoes, and I figure out I might be a jerk too. If I am a powerful guy and I can control military power to make me stronger and get more power, why don’t I use the power to gain power?

I always believed in human natures, especially greedy, envious and selfish. War is a tool for some people. But for most people, war will destroy all they have. As a normal powerless person, my long-cherished wish just got a peaceful world and mind. As the Dalai Lama said “War is neither glamorous nor attractive. It is monstrous. Its very nature is one of tragedy and suffering.”

Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole

--

--