Kaine Varley
1 min readMay 3, 2019

--

Hi Gino Messmer,

Thanks for a great article, it really helped get me started.

One thing that I’d like to point out, however, is with your Publish step setup. In it you have two switches; [configuration] and [output]. For me, the [$(BuildConfiguration)] variable used for the [configuration] switch wasn’t available at run time, and this step kept failing.

As it happened, this was not a bad thing since it meant that I had to do some digging on my own and learned a great deal. For those in my position, the [configuration] switch is essentially either [Debug|Release], and defaults to [Debug] if not specified.

While there are certain variables that are provided by the pipeline, I was able to add my own, and created one called [Build.Configuration] which I set to [Release].

Thanks again for a great article.

Kaine

--

--