Andela Bootcamp Experience:Part 1

Oluwafemi Akinwa
2 min readFeb 12, 2017

--

Grit is that ‘extra something’ that separates the most successful people from the rest. It’s the passion, perseverance, and stamina that we must channel in order to stick with our dreams until they become a reality.

Travis Bradberry

Bootcamps are important part of a software developer’s journey to greatness and if it’s an Andela bootcamp, expect the unconventional and be prepared to go the extra mile. I’ve never been to a bootcamp before but I do have an idea on what it is and what to expect (Courtesy of Hack Reactor and FullStack Academy).

On the first day, which is a Self Learning Clinic, the facilitator, Phillip Newman, adresssed bootcampers and emphasized the purpose of the bootcamp and, also, the necessary skills required. Groupings were made and each group was assigned a BFA (Bootcamp Facilitator Assistant). My group’s BFA is Ngozi, an Andela Fellow.

We started off with Phillip reiterating the Andela values,

  • Excellence-Exceed expectations(This is not your average training so go the extra mile!).
  • Passion-Get rid of the excuses and go all out(Go hard or go home!).
  • Integrity-Be honest and open-minded.
  • Collaboration-Be a team player(It’s a Fellowship, duh!).

In my opinion, it’s important that everyone should have core values geared towards growth and I’m happy Andela did not disappoint.

Next we covered soft skills like,

  • Growth Mindset-An attitude of continuous development and learning.
  • Feedback-One phrase: effective and constructive communication.

Quite a lot of software developers or engineers lack these skills and I’m happy these were taught atthe bootcamp.

Then comes the technical skills training most of the bootcampers have been waiting for,

  • Programming Logic
  • Version Control
  • Git
  • Test Driven Development

By the time we’re done, I was really hungry. Luckily, lunch came just in time but then we’re told fried rice and jollof rice, I’m like:

At the end of the day, the Self Learning Clinic was fun. I learnt something new e.g. TDD and made new friends especially those in my group.

Working on a sequel to this article but before that, let me get back to coding.

P.S. Luckily for me there was semo and egusi on the menu for lunch that day.

--

--

Oluwafemi Akinwa

Tech Enthusiast | Yoruba Angel | Gamer | Lifelong Learner