How To: Step-by-Step DIY Brand Photos for your Business

Kaitlyn Badger
5 min readMay 13, 2019

If you’re currently setting up a website, or have recently done so, you may have run into one of two issues. You can’t find the exact photographs you need to tell the story you want to tell, and/or you can’t find a photo of yourself that looks and feels right with your business.

A DIY brand photoshoot is a great way to solve these issues, and it’s easier than you think. If you have a phone or camera and a diy mindset, you can totally do this.

My brand photo results

Before we go further… hiring a photographer is well worth the money. If that’s where you are at right now, that’s awesome and you should do that! But if you’re in a different place, or maybe you aren’t comfortable with a photographer, this is for you. I’ve put together a step by step list to holding your own photoshoot. From planning to ending up with the photos you need!

I recently held my own shoot, and I want to share with you what I’ve learned. What I’ve ended up with from my shoot are good quality, hard-working, story telling photographs for my business. Which is exactly what I needed. And since, as small business owners we each have to consider the time commitment something is, you’ll be pleased to know that it only took me around 5–6 hours. That’s in total from the planning phase to ending with edited photographs.

--

--