post 4/5: POST-α-POST-Ω (all the steps in a writer’s dance with fear)

Kalina King
3 min readMay 11, 2017

--

a 5-post guide to Getting Started writing (i.e. hurdling the first “Post”, + then writing more, + posting more)

turns out, flying is gleeful fun, especially when you are wearing gold-winged shoes.

catching up? see

part 1) POST SOMETHING.

part 2) POST AGAIN QUICKLY.

part 3) POSTING LISTS TO JUMP-START YOUR FUTURE SELF.

post 4) POST-α-POST-Ω (all the steps in a writer’s dance with fear)

TL;DR. POST A MENTOR’S GUIDE TO GETTING STARTED WRITING AND PSYCHOANALYSE YOUR FEARS, TO REMIND YOUR FUTURE SELF THAT YOU ARE IN CONTROL.

I suggest reading and bookmarking John McPhee’s gem of a piece for writers and writer’s block, “Draft № 4”. Here is where I will eventually collect and commemorate some of my personal learnings and anecdotes with this writer, mentor, adventurer, and consummate caretaker of words.

And here, I will recount my time with photographer Norman Seeff, who has interviewed and photographed creatives and legends and spoken extensively on the creative process and the importance of ‘learning to dance with fear’.

In the meantime, I decided to extrapolate from Draft № 4 and use the structure of the 4 drafts to probe and explain my own fear in doing what I am doing (writing and publicly posting).

Drafting on Draft № 4 : dear kalina, does the devil know fear, draft no. 1/4

Dear Kalina, what are your greatest fears about ✔️ pressing “post” ✔️ putting yourself out there ✔️ putting one of your many voices or characters out there ✔️ sharing words, thoughts, observations, opinions, stories, gossip, cryptic codes, astute analysis, crippled arguments, objections, hyperbole, memes, comedy, flair, the internet equivalent of glitter everywhere?

Drafting on Draft № 4 : dear kalina, does the devil know fear, draft no. 2/4

No one sees it.

No one cares.

Few people see it.

Few people care.

Many people see it, few people care.

Some people comment.

Someone read it.

An eyebrow was raised.

Many eyes roll.

I change a mind.

Someone agrees.

Someone shares.

A few people share.

Someone decries.

I am asked to take it down.

I am proven wrong.

I learn something new.

Everyone sees it.

Everyone cares.

Everyone loves it.

Everyone hates it.

People are obsessed.

People block me from their feed.

Somewhere new connections are sparked.

The internet is cruel.

The internet is expansive.

I enjoy writing.

I run out of ideas (in fact, not possible).

I get bored.

I change my mind.

I forgot something.

I regret this list.

I laugh at my former self.

I never really meant it.

The process of writing changed my views or provokes a conversation.

Drafting on Draft № 4 : dear kalina, does the devil know fear, draft no. 3/4

At the start, I started writing for myself.

It was only a draft.

You are all welcome.

Drafting on Draft № 4 : dear kalina, does the devil know fear, draft no. 4/4

and as we appropriate art, brands, space, so may we take control of telling our own stories, recounting and framing our (emphasis on ownership) human experience.

--

--

Kalina King

Experimental writing about adventures in art & science and our digital lives. co-founder @LIGHTSTAGEHK